Dreamer

20 May

Bronwyn has had a reoccurring bad dream:

“I was dreaming that I was falling, and slipping straight into a deadline”.

After I composed myself (and apologized for laughing), it occurred to me that “deadline” is kind of a scary word.  It certainly can be in its proper context, but besides that, can you imagine what it sounds like to a 4 year old?

Is it a line of dead stuff?

A line after which you are dead?

How many words, and their meanings, do we take for granted?  Words that we throw around could sound scary to a child, especially taken out of context.

Even sayings we use can be morbid, or at least disconcerting when you don’t understand them:

It’s raining cats and dogs.

He’s dead meat!

Fish out of water.

I wanted to share this story because I never want to forget that some of the things we take for granted as adults, children still need to learn.

Can anyone think of any other words or phrases that might be scary to a child but that we, as adults, might laugh over?

9 Responses to “Dreamer”

  1. Natalie May 20, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Amazing, I have the same dream as Bronwyn! We grapple and slip with those “deadlines”. Hope I didn’t use the “d” word with her.Great fear, wakes me up in a cold sweat.
    Here are some that others may have already mentioned:
    Throw the baby out with the bathwater.
    Full of beans (how full?!)
    Dressed to kill
    Bee in your bonnet
    Eat your heart out.
    Bark is worse than your bite
    Get under your skin
    Burn yourself out
    Need something like a hole in the head
    By the skin of your teeth
    Cut off your nose to save your face
    Do or die

    There are also those other positive misleading idioms…”its a piece of cake”

    • Aunt Jan May 20, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

      Natalie, did you come up with all those yourself???

  2. claire May 20, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    i do remember telling Nicolas to go and put a bug in Grandpa’s ear about going to the beach..and the reaction!

  3. Jenn May 20, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    Well, this is my first comment to you Jules. I just had to add this, it’s not so much a scary saying, but definitely a misunderstanding I had as a child…
    In the car driving along the 401 GTA (before it was the GTA)
    Me: Mommy, Mommy, Mommy, that guy is drinking and driving! That’s wrong!
    Mom: What’s he drinking? (With what I now know to be a skeptical tone)
    Me: A Coke!
    My mother then proceeded to explain the difference between my situation and the true meaning of ‘drinking and driving’
    Hope you enjoyed that one 🙂
    Love ya!

    • Julie May 21, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

      Great one Jenn!!

  4. bononers May 20, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    elliot was so terrified the day last december when he heard an announcement over the mall intercom about BOXING WEEK!

  5. Julie May 21, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    These were from my sister:

    Being on fire (like a winning streak)
    Being fired
    Getting fired up

    All good ones!

  6. Aunty Gussy June 1, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    Another not-so-scary but easily misinterpreted;

    a little birdie told me…

  7. Julia June 9, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    not to mention the songs we sing to them as infants “Rockabye baby on the tree top….when the bow breaks the cradle will fall and down will come baby, cradle and all!!

Leave a comment