30 things you never thought you’d need to know

7 Aug

Nothing motivates me to write a blog than visiting my favourite blogs and not seeing anything new.  So… you’re welcome.

No segue is coming to mind, so I will just jump right in:

I am turning 30 on Saturday.

I.KNOW!

So, to celebrate this milestone, I thought I would tell you a little about myself.  You know all about my kids, my husband, and even my dogs.  But I rarely really talk about myself here.  You know, on MY blog.

So here are 30 things you may not know about me:

1.  My favourite colour is green.

2. My middle name is Rachel, but it took me years to realize that it was spelled the normal boring way and not “Rachelle” which in my pre-teen mind was WAY cooler.

3.  My biggest fear is getting lost.

4.  I have a really hard time running and doing other things at the same time (which is why I suck at basketball, but am decent at Ultimate Frisbee).

5.  I once drove for 4 hours outside Thunder Bay with kleenex stuck in behind the mechanism to keep them on.  I thought they were broken, but it was really because your high beams won’t work if your lights aren’t on…

6.  I would rather eat potato salad than potato chips.

7.  My favourite donut is the apple fritter not because it is a superior donut, but because when I was a student, and I wanted the most value for my lunch, the apple fritter seemed the biggest.

8.  I hate sneezing more than anything else in the whole world, even more than throwing up.

9.  There are people out there who only know me by the name, “The Waterfront Nazi”.

10.  My friend, Melissa once convinced me that they hoisted Shamu the whale up a tower and let him dive into a pool of water.  Thanks, Melissa!

11.  The only movie to ever make me cry is Armaggedon.

12.  I own 7 pairs of shoes.  Total.

13.  I once cheated on a test in the third grade.  I couldn’t remember the last of the four food groups.  FYI, it is Dairy.

14.  I wrote an entire 8th grade geography paper based on the fact that Alaska was a country…

15.  I have owned 4 dogs: Honey, Peaches, Nevis and Dude

16.  I have owned 6 vehicles (not including my parents or my husband’s): the Booger, Ugly, Lance, the Civic, the Vibe, and my current minivan.

17.  I once went on a cross-Canada road trip with 4 girls, a car we had no business driving that far, and one suitcase each.

18.  I swam with spawning salmon.

19.  I have rappelled down a cliff-face in the dark.

20.  I have swam in a underwater cave.

21.  I saw a barracuda while snorkeling.

22.  I have no idea what colour my eyes are.

23.  Every time I travel to the United States, my bag/vehicle/person gets “randomly” checked.

24.  I once bought a statue of a giraffe from a man on the street.

25.  I have only kissed one guy.

26.  I have never tried drugs.  Unless love is a drug

27.  When we were kids we used to catch fish in our lake.  But we hated cleaning them, so we always let them  go.  One time we caught a monster catfish, and it was so big we wanted to keep it to show my dad.  Of course, we forgot about it in a bucket of water in the sun for weeks.  When we finally remembered, it looked like the fish had disintegrated in the water.  It was so gross.  It was only a few years ago that I realized that a raccoon probably ate it…

28.  The only word I ever remember getting wrong on a spelling test in grade school was “sugar”.

29.  My favourite book is Pillars of the Earth.

30.  When I was still dating Bruce, I drove the Booger to his parents’ house in Newmarket during a snowstorm.  We were supposed to leave for Chicago together in the morning, and I didn’t want to be late.  The storm was getting so bad, I considered pulling off the highway and waiting it out, but I was afraid I would freeze.  It was then that I noticed a set of headlights coming toward me, windshield wipers frantically pushing the snow off the windshield.  Windshield wipers?  The storm was much more bearable after that…

I hope you feel you know me a little better after that, and also, that you don’t think less of me…!

Also, I want to know if there is anyone who knew every one of these things.  If you did, comment below.

10 Responses to “30 things you never thought you’d need to know”

  1. Jess August 7, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    Loved pillars of the earth!! It was so nice and long. Did you see the cbc series?

    • Julie August 7, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

      I did see some of the episodes, Jess, but I found them not true enough to the story, and poorly acted. Disappointing…

  2. Erin August 7, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    I laughed out loud reading this! lol. My favourites 5, 9, 17, 19 (though you forgot to mention the cougars!) and 30 (love that story)…I am kinda disappointed that the crabs story wasn’t on there:)
    Wishing you the best of birthdays! Love you lots Julie! You are aweome!

    • Julie August 7, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

      The CRABS!! How could I have forgotten?!

  3. andrea August 8, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    well i think i actually never knew that your middle name was rachel…I think your not alone on the Rachelle thing. Rachel loves that when she was born in quebec they couldn’t pronounce her name and called her Rachelle instead…so she loves that pronounciation too. Well i enjoyed your 30 things about you but there are a few there that may need to be epanded on!!!

  4. andrea August 8, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    urr i hit the ‘x’ button several times…. i meant “expanded” on

  5. Elaine August 9, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

    I think I knew most of those… I can also think of a few stories that got left out. 😉

    • Julie August 10, 2011 at 8:42 am #

      What stories got left out?! Besides the crabs- I may need to have a post just dedicated to THAT one!

  6. greenandfrugalsamanda August 13, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    #25-only kissed one guy?? ARE YOU CRAZY??? That’s just not right…

    oh wait…I’VE only kissed one guy too…. oh, and it wasn’t my husband….okay, I’m kidding about that one…the second half…I really have only kissed one guy, and thankfully it WAS my husband. 😉

    • greenandfrugalsamanda August 13, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

      Oh, and for the longest time, I only knew you as the waterfront Nazi, even though we were staff together.

      kidding…again.;)

Leave a Reply

