Inventive… I like it!

4 Feb

Tonight, Bronwyn and I went grocery shopping late, after the other kids were in bed.  This had a dual purpose: spend some one-on-one time with my eldest… and, hopefully, wear out a kid who (even after spending the day outside in the snow) wasn’t even close to tired at 8 pm.

To keep her occupied, and let her be helpful (and who doesn’t like free kid labour?!) I encouraged her to grab things off the shelf whenever possible.  This also allowed her a chance to practice her reading in a non-threatening environment, and try to recognize familiar brands etc.

We were almost done, and the store was very empty, so I sent her on ahead to get bananas.

“Get a bunch with 5 or 6 on it” I instructed as she ran off.

She returned with 7.

I inspected them thoroughly (I think that kids should be able to choose good quality produce at any age) and indicated that although they were a good colour there were too many brown spots.

She quickly returned with a second bunch.

“Too green” I countered.

I left her to scrutinize the remaining bananas while I threw more food into the cart.  She had been gone a little longer than I expected so I headed for the banana section.  That’s when I saw her, deep in conversation with a produce employee.  He was a guy about 17 years old, and I watched as he listened intently and walked all around the huge stack of bananas while she gestured and gesticulated what I could only assume were my previous instructions on Proper Banana Choice.  At one point she looked over at me and saw me watching her.  She indicated with a look that she had asked this guy to help…

She returned, triumphant, with a bunch of bananas.

“That man said these are the best bananas he has.  I couldn’t find the perfect ones, so I asked someone who worked here”.

I don’t know who was more proud: Bronwyn for having found the perfect bananas, or me, for witnessing my child engaged in such a grown-up solution.

Sigh.

2 Responses to “Inventive… I like it!”

  1. Natalie February 5, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Good problem solver she is and beyond a verbal communicator as she takes on the bigger world out there. Interesting you write, “She indicated with a look that she had asked this guy to help.” At age 5 Bronwyn is creatively communicative in more than words. She had to learn this somewhere. This is expressively deductive on both your parts as mommy teacher and daughter student. Can just see it: the nuance of flickered raised eyebrows, quick flick of the eyes in the direction of the subject, and a quick oscillation of the head in less than a second to indicate she had asked this guy to help. It sounds like no banana bread for awhile.

  2. Barb Vlasov February 5, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

    Love it! Julie, you are such a GREAT mom!!!

Leave a Reply

