Bye Bye Baby

5 Aug

This past weekend, I looked at Bruce and said, “let’s get rid of Josselyn’s crib already”.

He agreed, but it wasn’t until last night that I finished all the mattress swapping/bleaching/rearranging that was needed to actually put a bed in Josselyn’s room.

We had one in the garage.  A cute little white sleigh bed that Bruce bought for Bronwyn when she was about 3 months old.  So we cleaned it, and hauled it into the house, and set it up, and…

Josselyn climbed into it, and fell asleep.

I wish I had a picture for you.  It was adorable.  At one point she called to me that we had forgotten to brush her teeth.  I hauled her out of the bed and she brushed her teeth for 3 seconds and then climbed back in.  I didn’t hear from her again until the morning.  Well, there was one cry-out in the middle of the night, but no freaking out, and no escaping!

The older two tried to convince me that they could get her out of bed themselves in the morning, “you know, in case you want to sleep in?!”.  Thoughtful, aren’t they?

I have been reading a little bit lately (in the blog world) about other mommies who are worried about this new stage.  They wonder what they will do now that they don’t have babies.  They can’t decide whether to have more children.

I just do not relate.

It isn’t that we DO.NOT.WANT.ANY.MORE.KIDS.  but we don’t.  And instead of feeling like I am missing out on something, all I can think of is how great this summer has been with 3 kids who all (mostly) toilet, eat, and walk themselves.  Joss doesn’t quite fit in that description, but that is mostly my doing, not lack of skill on her part!

I love that they don’t nap.  I live off of spontaneous trips to the beach.  I am excited that no one will die if lunch is late by half an hour because we decided to stop at Walmart on the way home.

And I LOVE that no one needs help eating corn on the cob.  Or corn on the log (Bronwyn) or cob on the corn (Holly).  They crack me up!

Between the freedom to have fun whenever and wherever, and the blessed, blessed heat, this has been the greatest summer ever!  What’s the next milestone for us?  I’m not sure.  Going back to work?  All 3 kids in school all day every day?  No more CARSEATS?!?

I wonder which will come first…?

2 Responses to “Bye Bye Baby”

  1. Natalie August 7, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    …no rolling out of bed? no bed rails? (I still have two, and a crib…hmmmmmm). Thanks for letting me know. 🙂 Love those kids growing up beyond babyhood…for many reasons too. They are beyond interesting in their communication (and cuteness). Sharing your sense of adventure…:)

    • Julie August 7, 2011 at 11:09 pm #

      She has a bed rail. No use taking chances!

Leave a Reply

