Running

11 May

Well, we are 11 days in to May.  May is running month, so you don’t have to go check.  It is clearly not blogging month…

Anyway…

I have decided to go a little easier on myself this time and aim not for running daily (you know, to avoid all that rain etc) but running a certain distance.  I gave myself a goal of 125 km at the beginning of the month.  Want to know how far I’ve come so far?  12km.  Yep.  Sad right?  But let me explain!  You see first Bruce was gone and I couldn’t very well run and leave the kids home alone and then I went to Sudbury for an extended weekend and I brought all my running gear and stuff but somehow we just never made it outside after the kids were down and I couldn’t leave during the day and make Ryan watch all 6 kids while Elaine and I ran and even if I could we were at church and Emily’s shower and doing stuff like not running…

See?  Where could I fit a run in?  I want to exercise.  I want to avoid sugary and calorie-laden foods.  I do.  But I also want to not run, and eat lots of desserts.  I am afraid in my world, pie always beats no pie.

And it always will.

4 Responses to “Running”

  1. Melissa Stringer May 11, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    I think even thinking about running should count for points… and maybe even count as some form of exercise! Because sometimes that’s as far as I ever get haha! Great job with the 12k, its better than 0k!

  2. Erin May 11, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    Keep reaching for you 125km! Might take a while but you’ll get there! I hear you on the wanting to be healthy but not wanting to, too! Preaching to the choir!

  3. andrea May 11, 2011 at 9:04 pm #

    i don’t think i should be reading this blog right now…it’s somewhat making me feel bad for the fact i’m sitting on the couch eating chocolate….except for your pie comment!

  4. Natalie May 11, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Can relate to this. Well, there IS Nordic Pole walking…very popular in Europe, starting to catch on here very s-l-o-w-l-y. Worth the time to do it, and to do it right,learning from a passionate certified Nordic pole walking coach. Instead of using 48% of your body, you use your upper body (triceps/core/rotators) and use 90% of the body. Burns off calories, saves the pounding on the joints (yep, that’s arthritis down the road) and is FUN and supports breathing in fresh air with chest wall expansion. You go faster than just walking, and do so with erect posture and great body mechanics. Free lesson here when you come visit(not from me, I’m not certified yet).

Leave a Reply

