That middle daughter of yours is… uh… lively!

13 Mar

We are now safely home from Galilean, and full of stories and sugar.  Bronwyn had a great time making new friends, making puppets, and performing at the Talent Night.  Josselyn was in fine form, and my worries about how she would do away from home and with so many tempting off-limits foods were unfounded.

But Holly, Holly was the star.  She flitted from one group to another, making friends, and being independent.  Her favourite thing to do was go to the bathroom by herself.  The following is a true story:

Al was in the bathroom, taking his shower when he heard, “Excuse me, I need some help”.

“Uh, shouldn’t you be in the girls bathroom?”

“I need some HELP!”

“I think you need to find your mom.”

“No, I need to wash my hands!”

At this point, Al steps out of the shower, “uh, ok, just let me get a towel.”

“Can you turn on the water… can you get me soap… I need a paper towel.”

Good thing Al is such a good sport!

In another case, I get summoned by another man, “I think your daughter needs your help, in the, uh… men’s bathroom.”

When I enter, wishing fervently that Bruce had come on this trip, I find Holly on the toilet waiting for me to wipe her bum.

“I’m sorry I forgot to not use the boy’s bathroom, Mommy.”

And finally, as an epilogue to yesterday’s post:

Holly: Knock knock.

Me: Who’s there?

Holly: Interrupting Mommy!

Me: Interrupting Momm…

Holly: NO!!!!!!!

3 Responses to “That middle daughter of yours is… uh… lively!”

  1. Natalie March 13, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    Sooooooo funny…and nice to know you are safely home to the family bathroom (where you will again be interrupted). More details?

  2. Heather (Ghent) Sztanyo March 13, 2011 at 10:28 pm #

    did she seriously understand the hilarity of her joke??!! I mean, that she made you say “Interrupting Mommy” and then interrupted you while saying it? I mean, that is layer upon layer of irony and humour! I’m very, very impressed if she thought it through so thoroughly! What a sophisticated comedian. 🙂 Every once in a while our kids pop out with something genuinely, and completely unintentionally, funny. Then you have to scratch your head and wonder… 🙂

  3. Stephanie Birnie March 15, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    I am dying laughing at this blog!! HAHA poor Al! Your daughters are hilarious.

Leave a Reply

