March Break

11 Mar

Friday morning and March Break has begun!  I packed the van last night and have packed and re-packed the cooler 3 times to make sure everything is going to fit.  We are heading to Sudbury to pick up my parents and will continue on to Blind River, ON for a weekend of fun and fellowship!

Family Camp is a tradition at my parent’s church that goes back to when I was a kid (well, maybe a teenager).  Since being married and having kids, I have only made it back once.  But now that the girls are getting older, and more independent, and less, oh, what’s the word I’m looking for…

“Whiny”?

That’ll do.

Winter camp holds such good memories for me: the bunkbeds… the TUBE HILL… the Ping-Pong tables… the basement showers…  All you GBCers- know what I’m sayin’?!

It is obviously different when you go as a camper, but Family Camp has its own unique benefits.  Namely, no one to stop you squeezing through the triangle ALL FOUR WAYS!

Do I sound excited?

I am.

I want my girls to experience all the fun that I had at camp.  And I know that they’ll be there with their Mommy.  And that part of the sparkle of Camp can only be experienced when you are on your own, and away from your parents, and with all your best friends that you only see once or twice a year at camp.  But I hope I can lay a foundation that will drive them to forge the types of friendships that can only be made at Camp.

So, here’s to all my GBC friends: thanks for everything.  And, Erin?  I challenge you to the Triangle!  Bring it on- and bring your camera!

I’m curious, what are YOUR plans for March Break?

Bronwyn and Nate playing ball. GBC 2008.

Wade and Holly

Heading for the Triangle!

Know any of these people?

FOOSEBALL!!!!!!!

4 Responses to “March Break”

  1. Elaine March 11, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    Julie, I noticed that the pictures of YOU going through the triangle seem to be suspiciously omitted?

    I can’t wait to get to CAMP! WOOT!

  2. Lauren Booker March 11, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    i didn’t even know there was a family camp during the winter. we never did winter camp. too bad cause we would have totally gone!

  3. Erin March 11, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    I noticed that too Elaine! Though I can’t say I’m eager to try.
    Looking forward to the weekend!

  4. Natalie March 11, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    GBC hospitality, one to another. You can’t help but to have a great time together. Happy for all as you enjoy:)

Leave a Reply

