Quilted

10 Mar

My sister and I joke that she has Mom’s “Can’t Finish a Project” gene.  That is nothing compared to me inheriting my Dad’s “Can’t Start a Project Unless I Can See the Finish” gene, as well as Mom’s “Can’t Finish a Project” gene.  It is at times crippling.  But we are working to overcome it.  And maybe start a support group.  Stephanie and Richard can join!

I started this quilt for Holly over a year ago.

Around the World: Rainbow Edition

I plugged away at it when the mood hit me.  Yesterday?  I finished it!

I used some new techniques, such as strip-piecing, and using the backing as the binding.  You can find the pattern here.  I also got a little crazy with the quilting part:

Customized!

I am pleased with how it turned out.  And even more pleased to have it off my sewing machine!

Holly seems to like it too.

Posing with Lamby

Smile Holly!

I AM smiling!!

9 Responses to “Quilted”

  1. Aunt Diane March 10, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Bravo! It looks lovely.

  2. Elaine March 10, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    her quilt is amazing!! I can’t wait to see what you come up with next (year).

    do you still have a month available for a resolution?? maybe you can pump out Joel’s quilt in a month!

  3. Aunty Gussy March 10, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    It’s beautiful, Jules! I love the customization too 😉
    Makes me want to start quilting. But I think the puppy will be my hobby for a bit. How old are puppies when they stop destroying things? Is it ever?

  4. Erin March 10, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    Wow, I am impressed…although I can’t make anything so that probably doesn’t say much…none the less well done Jules!

  5. andrea March 10, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    Gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!!! so is the silly little girl that’s posing with it

  6. Natalie March 10, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    Charlotte’s web would say it all for this blog entry celebrating Holly’s quilt: “Terrific”, “Radiant”,”Some pig”, oopss, I mean “Some lamb” and lastly, “Humble”.

    Very proud for you. Congratulations and ENJOY!

  7. marlys March 10, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    WOW JULIE!!! That is so beautiful! So so proud of you for finishing it!

  8. April Clement March 11, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    It is gorgeous Julie! You are a woman of many talents…how you managed to get quilt done, is beyond me. You inspire me to learn to quilt.

  9. Linda March 23, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    LOVE the quilt, it looks wonderful!

Leave a Reply

