Cookie Connoiseur

7 Mar

Ok, I have to say it:  MEN!

Ladies, are you with me?

*I apologize in advance to any men who are reading this (it has come to my attention, that although I have a faithful readership, this rarely includes husbands, so I am not really worried about alienating anyone).*

Anyway, Bruce is CRAZY!

Anybody following my random Facebook postings today might have noticed that I was going to attempt to make gluten-free, dairy-free chocolate chip cookies.  I used this recipe (replacing the almond flour with rice flour, the agave syrup with brown sugar, and the grapeseed oil with vegan margarine, and adding 1 c almond milk because the texture was too crumbly).  You might reason, that since I took the time to write all that, I would now proceed to tell you how great they were!

Not quite.

The batter was delicious, the cookies not so much.

It tasted… healthy.  Even though it wasn’t.

And when they finished baking, they crumbled.  Not the texture you are looking for in a cookie for a 21 month old.

On a side note, I think I will try again with an egg, and see how that works out.  Also, I might try the almond flour, as I heard rice flour tends to crumble in baking.  This learning curve is a steep one, friends.

So back to MEN!

After devouring a delicious stew (mostly meat) Bruce flips a cookie off the tray and pops it in his mouth.  He chews for a bit and pops a second.  Having not tried the finished product yet, I calmly ask, “how are they?”

“Well, I ate two”.

?!?!?!?!?!??!?!?

What?!

So, does that mean you like them, or…. not?

I mean, normally, Bruce would eat half a dozen chocolate chip cookies in one sitting.  Chocolate chip is his favourite cookie (it should be everyone’s, but that is just my opinion), and I don’t make them enough (he says).  His 40 year old waistline will thank me…

But, if they weren’t that good, why did he eat TWO of them?!?!

NB  Normally I let Bruce read any post that is going to be about him before I publish it.  But tonight he has gone to “meat-fest”.  For those of you who are not men, and don’t have a husband, brother, son etc that partakes in this sort of event, it is a get-together that includes food made of meat.  Vegetables are not allowed.  I have been told that onions used for seasoning are tolerated… barely.

3 Responses to “Cookie Connoiseur”

  1. Tiffany Million March 7, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Men! LOL Love it! My hubby wasn’t a huge fan of the dairy free chocolate chip cookies when I first made them either. It took a few tries until the recipe was perfected, a substitution here…found the dairy free choc chips instead of using unsweetened. Then he was sold. Which I later regretted cuz he would eat them…all. LOL Enjoy your cookie making fun. When you rock out on the recipe, maybe Mr.”well, I ate two” will only be allowed to ever eat two. Silly boy.

  2. amanda March 7, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

    Because I feel the need to keep you updated on these Costco cookies…I finally opened the package and tried them out. They’re pretty good..remind me of Dad’s chocolate chip cookies (not that they are easy to find). And…Hubby who doesn’t usually eat dessert, let along cookies gave them a try…and ate 2 of them! He didn’t say anything one way or another but he’s still alive so I guess he thought they were okay. 😉

  3. Natalie March 7, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

    Brave you are as you tackle these improvised recipes.
    Yes, a man of few words, who therefore may or may not thank you when he is 40 (for his waistline). Reminds me of the story of the woman who asked her husband on their 50th wedding anniversary if he still loved her. He said, “I told you when I married you that I loved you, and I’ll let you know when I change my mind”.

Leave a Reply

