Julie and Julie and Julia

6 Mar

I watched Julie & Julia last night.  It had been recommended to me before, and although Bruce is pretty good about watching his fair share of chick flicks, this one hadn’t appealed to him.  At.  All.

So, since he was gone this weekend, I rented it (and Tinker Bell: the Great Fairy Rescue).

I was soon caught up in the plot(s).  For those of you not in the know, it is based on two true stories.  The first is Julia Child‘s foray into cooking, and the writing of her first book; and, the second is Julie Powell‘s 2002 blogging challenge to cook through that same cookbook in one year.

Although neither heroine appealed to me, personally, I loved the idea of what they were doing.  Especially Julie.  It resonated with me as I attempt to blog daily for a measly month, while she signed on for a whole year!  Plus, her subject matter was refreshed daily as she wrote about her successes and failures cooking french cuisine.  My subject matter also changes daily, but not always in ways you care to read about!

I have no desire (or time) to take on such an ambitious undertaking, but I enjoyed watching her struggle with the temptation to succumb to narcissism.  A blog, is, by definition, a platform for someone to talk about themselves.  Even if it isn’t about them, it is still from the author’s point of view and that gives a personal edge to everything they write.

I hope I don’t fall to the depths that she did: melting down over every failed dish!  But I admire her passion and steadfast commitment to the project.  And the same goes for Julia who rose above her male counterparts in the predominately male field of culinary arts.

That being said, thank you to everyone who left a comment saying that they read and enjoy this blog.  It means a lot to know that someone is reading.

3 Responses to “Julie and Julie and Julia”

  1. Natalie March 6, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    The inspired “wanna be chef” behaviour doesn’t necessarily last long after watching the Julie and Julia movie. It is a lot of work to challenge yourself as a master chef at home when you can just invent along the way with what is either on hand, on sale or right on the mark for good nutrition, none of which may place taste as a top priority but may lead to a discovery without a recipe. Try this accidental gourmet treat from the past week: sprig of fresh curly parsley chewed and salivated together with a red and green grape. Delicious..the bitter and the sweet…a taste like none other. Keep blogging, Julie…thought provoking you are.

  2. Sarah C March 7, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    I really enjoyed the movie Julie and Julia, but then I’m in love with French cooking!
    Just wanted you to know that I do read your blog – probably once or twice a week. I should comment more often, but you know how it is, to read things in bits as you deal with three little people!
    Sure wish we could get our kiddos together – they would have a blast! Maybe someday…

  3. Linda March 23, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    one of my favourite movies ever

Leave a Reply

