Who aaaarrrrreeeee you?

5 Mar

WordPress (like most blog platforms- even the free ones) have site stats that you can look at to see how well your blog is doing.  This can be addicting.  Especially when you announce that you will be blogging every day for a month (and you have a large family) so your stats have skyrocketed and you are left to wonder who all these people are who have suddenly taken an interest in your boring life.

My site stats for March, so far, have shown an average of a hundred hits a day.  They don’t show you who is viewing your page, just that there have been so many visitors.  Granted, my mother could be clicking on this blog a hundred times a day, but I doubt it.  For two reasons:

1) She’s very busy.  So busy, in fact, that I  can’t even get a hold of her in the evenings.  I compensate by calling her during the day.  At work.  During office hours.  She has one of those jobs that comes with a desk, and a door, and her own phone extension, so she can’t really get…away…from…me…. (that is me trying to get my voice to face in print… not easy).

She tries.  She says she’s busy, and that she has lots of work to do and all that.  But I don’t believe her.  So I talk and talk and talk, and sometimes she answers.  I don’t think this is because she’s not listening, but more because she’d prone to water in her ears and has a hard time on the phone.  At least that’s what she tells me…

2) She doesn’t read things twice.  Not not EVER but not usually.  This could explain why there are literally thousands of books in my parents home.  You might not notice if you only ever see the main floor, but upstairs?  A whole other story.  My mom has floor to ceiling bookcases in her bedroom- packed with books.

And that is not all.  Oh no, that is not all.

There are also boxes of books in the closets.  I suspect that they are there from when we moved… nearly 8 years ago.

My dad bought her a Kindle for Christmas.  He also bought her 4 matching, blue Snuggies.  But that is another story.

I think we can say, with confidence, that the number of hits to this site are not just a case of a mother’s pride in the achievements of her offspring (although, after this post, I might be banished to the bottom of her bookmarks).

So, anybody want to reveal themselves?  Send me a note, email, Facebook message, or comment at the bottom.  Thanks!  And happy reading.

19 Responses to “Who aaaarrrrreeeee you?”

  1. Erin March 5, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    I check your blog Julie…normally only once a day since march began (before maybe once a week) Sometimes I forget if I checked, only to find I did, so may be responsible for 2 of those 100;)

  2. Margaret Flietstra March 5, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    I read you! I also think site stats are addicting… also the search terms can be quite interesting. WordPress is great for stats! I love your blog… and your March challenge is a challenge to me– I haven’t updated since January and have probably like 10 blog-worthy things to write about…

    Margaret

  3. Erin W March 5, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    I check it! Sometimes, I make my sister read it, too [so she can see what she’s getting into with that babies so close together business!]
    I always get a laugh out of the things your kids say!
    I usually only remember to check it because I see that you’ve put a new one up via facebook.
    Happy Blogging!

  4. Tiffany Million March 5, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    Haha count me in! And I’m addicted to those crazy stats too. This last series brought me to that hundred mark as well. Crazy stuff!

  5. amanda March 5, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    4 snuggies?! ummm, why four?

    • nic March 5, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

      Yeah, why don’t you blog about that…?

  6. Kare March 5, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    Today in Sears I saw a leopard print Snuggie, and sooo wishd I could buy it for your mother.

  7. Lauren Booker March 5, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    it’s meeeeeeeee! well, me and 99 other people. i read them all. even while i’m on vacation. 🙂

  8. Aunt Diane March 5, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    I get your blog via email. I can even read on my iphone.

  9. April Clement March 6, 2011 at 1:28 am #

    I read all of your blogs Julie! I get them in my email and look forward to not only what you have to say, but how you say it!

  10. Natalie March 6, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    I think you should be scouted by Oprah (whether you like it or not), Parenting magazines, Google ads, creative endeavours which include humerous and inspirational writing which communiate the reality regarding down to earth maximizing function, including how to put the fun back in to dysFUNction, live laugh love learn). Looking forward to each post.

  11. Patricia March 6, 2011 at 6:35 pm #

    Guilty as charged – well whenever I see a post on FB that you’ve added a new blog! I love seeing all your whitty comments and all the crazy/endearing thingsthe girls are up to! 🙂

  12. Heather Sz March 7, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    I’m with Patricia. Every time you post on Facebook that there’s a new blog, I read it. Your kids are too cute, and your accounts of them so well written, that I always have to snoop. 🙂 I’m glad you picked a month with 31 days to do a daily blog!

  13. Stef March 7, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    Hey Julie!

    I read your blog allllll the time!

  14. Stef Huot March 7, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    PS….it’s Stef Huot….

  15. Julie March 7, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    Thanks for the votes of confidence everyone… blush.

  16. Elaine March 7, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    I read it too, but apparently not everyday since I’m about 3 days late in commenting to this blog…

  17. katrina March 7, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    I read! But, like Elaine, I get a little behind sometimes! Always enjoy hearing what you have to say, in the way you say it. And of course love to hear updates on the girls.

    Not sure how much info wordpress gives you but have you heard of FEEDJIT? I have it on my blog and it’s kind of cool. Shows what city the visitor is from and what computer/browser they are using. So you’d probably be able to spot your mom. 🙂

  18. Averil March 8, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

    I’m in Julie! I’m glad you watched “Julie and Julia”…when I heard you were blogging all month I immediately recalled the movie…and then it dawned on me that your name was even “Julie”…:)

Leave a Reply

