Who said gluten-free was healthy?

4 Mar

I think we think of wheat as the enemy.  Pastries and processed foods get a bad rap, and for good reason.  So, when we decided to remove wheat from Joss’ diet, these were the things I was thinking of:

No Kraft Dinner- no problem.  Everything Bagels- can live without.  Whole wheat goldfish crackers- yummy, but good for you?

But now that I am knee deep in this mess, and reading labels like a spy looking for clues, it isn’t pretty.

In an attempt to remove dairy, soy and wheat from her diet, I am replacing these ingredients with sugar, oil, and more sugar.

I can understand why.  No one eats food that taste like cardboard (except babies who actually eat cardboard- why?  WHY?!?).  So, the answer is sugar.  And lots of it.  For example: I bought a box of gluten-free chocolate-y chip cookies.  No reason she can’t have a little treat in the midst of all the meat and veggies she has to consume, right?  I quickly read the ingredients when I bought it, but I am learning- quick is for people who care about the general calories and fiber of a portion, not for super-sleuths on the hunt for modified milk ingredients.  First ingredient: cornstarch.  Second ingredient: brown sugar.  Third (and fourth and fifth) ingredient?  Oil products.

It may have had none of her taboo foods, but I am starting to think it would be healthier to feed her jelly beans.  At least they won’t fill her up with useless calories.

8 Responses to “Who said gluten-free was healthy?”

  1. greenandfrugalsamanda March 4, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    I agree…I find that if you buy a lot of prepackaged foods, even if they are in the “health section” of the store and labelled gluten-free, they can be full of crap! there are some good online recipes for gluten-free cookies, then you have control over what sweeteners you put in it.

  2. Tiffany Million March 4, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    Sorry, still laughing. Jelly Beans have VERY useful calories. I think a Jelly Bean diet would be very productive and would likely solve all of her, um, issues? 😉

  3. Elaine March 4, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    I agree with Tiff. Jelly Beans contain none of her taboo foods AND are full of food colouring.

  4. Julie March 4, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    You all don’t think jelly beans would just exacerbate her constipation problem?!?! 🙂

  5. andrea March 4, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    you can get just the white jelly beans then no food colouring…there, problem solved!

  6. amanda March 4, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    I didn’t read the ingredients on the gluten-free cookies from Costco, too happy that they even had them. I don’t know if I should read the ingredients and enjoy them, or read the ingredients and either return them or perhaps sigh because they are fine. I was looking forward to me “easy” cookies! 😉

  7. Julie March 4, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    Haha- sorry Amanda- I wasn’t trying to ruin your fun!!

  8. Natalie March 6, 2011 at 2:44 pm #

    Sounds like refined foods (in boxes) compound the problem with hiding sugar and soy (which goes by a lot of other names). It may be likely the science of nutrition is more advanced than allopathic medical professionals offer to date. I heard nutritionists and “health food” people expounding on the value of zinc to help a sore throat and reduce duration of cold virus 20 years ago…it just made allopathic news last week. Glad I listened twenty years ago and found it true for me.

Leave a Reply

