February 10, 2011

12 Feb

My sister just had her 3rd baby.  A GIRL!  I am so pumped too be an auntie again, but I realized that I’ll need to learn to spell the word neice niece.  See what I mean?  It is the “c” that throws me.  I see it, and ignore the fact that the “i” and “e” are not before the “c” and by the time I have gone through the whole rhyme in my head, I have been staring blankly at the computer screen for so long, one of my kids has to wave her hand in front of my face to snap me back to reality.

Aubrey Nicole was born just after 10pm on Thursday February 10, 2011.  I appreciated that she waited until after Grey’s to arrive: that’s my girl, Aubrey!

See her shirt? It says, "Born at Home"!

Back when I was pregnant with Bronwyn, Elaine called me up in a panic asking me if I knew that babies needed to be in carseats no matter how big they were.  I assured her that I had read about that sort of thing, and that the carseat was already purchased and a bunch of other stuff that seemed to calm her fears.

“Why the concern, Elaine?”

“Well, I had the strangest dream that you had this 22 lbs baby and since it was so big, you just sat it on the floor of the back seat of the car and drove home like that.  It was so big it didn’t even fall over.  Kind of like a big Buddha statue”.

“You were more worried that I forgot the carseat than you were about my delivering a 22 lbs baby?!?!?”

Well, Bronwyn was born on the 22nd of July and ever since, we always tell each other any kind of dream that occurs while the other is pregnant.  So when I had a dream that Baby #3 would be born on the 10th, I hurried to the phone.  I didn’t remember much of the dream, only that the date on the calendar kept swirling around and around (like a cartoon of a newspaper depicting the passage of time) with the number 10 floating through it.

The next morning, when I announced to the girls that they had a new GIRL cousin, they were thrilled.  When I told them her name, they both pronounced, simultaneously:

(Bronwyn) “Aubrey!  That’s the name of my Cabbage Patch Kid!!”

(Holly) “Nicole!  That’s the name of Anna’s mommy!”

Perspective.  Gotta love it!

Cute story to add before I forget:

Bruce: Hey Holly, what is your favourite colour?

Holly: Pink and purple!

Bruce: What is… your favourite meat?

Holly: Butterfly meat!!!!!!!!!

2 Responses to “February 10, 2011”

  1. Tiffany February 12, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    LOL I loved this post! I can so picture this conversation. And if it makes you feel ANY better, I would have been WAY more worried about you delivering a 22 lb baby than where it sat in the car. LOL

  2. Julia February 12, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    Congratulations Auntie Julie!!

    P.S> Love your blog by the way. You should consider making your blog into a book or something – the way you tell your stories is hilarious.

Leave a Reply

