Dairy vs Veg

7 Feb

Josselyn doesn’t like milk.  Plain milk that is.  I let the other girls put strawberry syrup or chocolate syrup in their milk sometimes, and Josselyn wanted to as well.  Now she refuses to drink anything but flavoured milk.  I tried giving her plain milk at times I know she is really thirsty or has no other choice (like in the car) but she throws it and refuses to drink it, and then a) it is wasted and b) she is cranky because she is thirsty.

And before all the judgment comes out over “you are the parent and she can drink what you offer”, please remember that unless you have a high-spirited child like Josselyn, you cannot understand this attitude.  I was there.  I judged too.  I judge no longer…!

Anyway, so my question is this: is it better to have her drink milk with some sugar in it, or juice?  I only ever give the girls 100% juice.  And usually it is even the kind with vegetables in it too.  But that stuff has tonnes of sugar too.  And milk is important right?  But so are fruits and vegetables, right?

Any thoughts?

In unrelated news, my January of exercising was a success!  I had to stop about a week early due to an unfortunate “jumping lunge” incident where I rolled my ankle, but I am back to the grind with my borrowed copy of p90x.  Wish me luck on that!  I am pleased to announce that I lost about 2 sizes, and more than a dozen inches.  Yeah me!  Now for a harder resolution: reading my Bible *gulp* daily!

8 Responses to “Dairy vs Veg”

  1. greenandfrugalsamanda February 7, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Sounds like your Joss is a lot like my Micah! You could try not giving her any milk for a few days or a week, just water mostly and sometimes juice when she is thirsty, and then go back to the milk. You might be surprised to find she is willing to drink it. And although milk is importnat, I personally think a week of not having it will not have any lasting effects. I personally wouldn’t add the syrup to every cup of milk she drinks because she might get used to it and as she grows refuses to drink plain milk ever. but that is definitely just opinion…you gotta do what works for you…and those who judge, you are right, they don’t have a high-spirited child!lol

  2. Aunty Gussy February 7, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    Maybe you could try soy. Personally, I’m not a fan of soy, but the taste might be better for her. Look into it.

  3. Laura February 7, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    It depends how much fighting you’re willing to put up with. I would bring water for in the car. You could also water down the juice, my hubby and I even water down our fruit juice, I find it too sweet. If you want to give her flavored milk you could buy Ovaltine chocolate flavored. It has added vitamins. No judgement here I have super fussy kids, just keep trying

  4. andrea February 7, 2011 at 5:12 pm #

    well of course…you know i won’t be judging since she’s so much like Samantha!!! I’ve had this battle with her too and it’s not an easy one since she doesn’t care for milk all that much to begin with! I think the suggestion that your other friend made was great. I think all i did was constistantly give a half glass of milk at suppertime for sammy every night and stopped chocolate or strawberry syrup and just refused when she asked…we wasted a fair amount of milk during this battle but i eventually got her off the syrup(haha sounds like a drug). Almost the only time we have chocolate syrup now is saturday pizza night we have chocolate milk. That being said i think sammy was a bit older when we ended up having this fight. I’m sure it’s not a big deal to put a little strawberry stuff in her milk but you don’t want to get stuck doing that for the rest of her childhood and her ending up hating milk but really i’m sure there are worse things than having a kid who needs a little flavour in her milk (this coming from a person who puts a drop of vanilla in her milk becuase milk is gross!blah)

  5. bononers February 7, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    i think that it depends on the amount of syrup that you put into the milk. you could try putting in less and less until she’s basicallly drinking milk. the sweet milk/ juice comparison is only fair on the sugar level though– sweetened milk is still great for bones!

  6. Natalie February 8, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    I was allowed to borrow a friend’s copy of The Resourceful Mother’s Secrets to Healthy Kids (“understand food, understand your child”). I think the book itself is a bit unwieldy or overwhelming in itself. Like…where do I begin? But there is truly helpful information about probiotics and causes, etc. I think the website http://www.theresourcefulmother.com/index.htm
    can be helpful because she will consult too (and I do trust her). Meredith Deasley is a local resident, and is knowledgable enough to help through her studies as a nutritionist and personal experience with her own children that motivated her to study nutrition in the first place. Check her out. 🙂

  7. andrea February 8, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    just remembered there is a hotline in ontario that you can call to talk to a nutritionist. They might be helpful if you wanted to replace milk with something else…most likely she’s just gotten use to having it a different flavour and really why would she not want sugar in it?? Not sure if it’s a good idea but a drop of vanilla adds some flavour but no added sugar.

  8. amanda February 8, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    Given that they (drs and nutritionists) seem to say that chocolate milk is perfectly fine I don’t think adding a bit of flavour and sugar is really a problem. Chocolate milk is also still approved my the province under the new health regime for healthy food in schools. And..when you think of the natural sugars in fruit…again, same thought.
    That’s my two cents. 🙂

Leave a Reply

