We interrupt our regularly scheduled blogging to bring you this announcement…

12 Jan

I have known for several weeks that something was wrong with Josselyn.  She wasn’t eating, and was more miserable than normal.  We went to see the doctor before Christmas and she advised that we return after the holidays if she wasn’t improving.

When we got back from Christmas vacation, Bruce noticed that she had these white splotches in her mouth and I found a suspect rash on her bum.  “Yeast”, I declared, after doing a bit of research.  “I’ll bring her in on Monday”.

Monday arrived and the clinic was closed.  I felt bad leaving her suffering for another 24 (plus) hours so I brought her to the emerg in Renfrew.

Side Note:  I loved it there!  I could definitely see myself working there one day.  The staff was friendly.  The place was clean.  They were concerned with patient confidentiality.  It gave a good vibe.  Very reminiscent of my time at Bowmanville.

They were getting through patients quickly, but soon a bunch of cops and ambulances showed up.  I know what that means, and we made our way home.

The next day was walk-in at the clinic, but I decided to call and see if I could get an appointment anyway.  As luck (or God’s mercy) would have it there was a cancellation for 2 pm.

We showed up and our NP was immediately concerned.  She sent us for blood work, urinalysis, chest xrays and gave us a rinse for her mouth.  She made an appointment to see us again in 48 hours.

By the time Thursday arrived, the medicine had done its work and the mouth sores were healing.  Josselyn was finally eating and drinking again and the haunted, hunted, look of slow starvation was leaving her face.  The swelling went down, and the rash lost its angry appearance.  I was pleased.  We were told to return next Tuesday with another urine sample.

By the time Tuesday came I had convinced myself that she was fine, and that all her symptoms had just been due to dehydration.  Her urine came back clean, but her blood work showed elevated levels of ESR.  “I’m afraid that this is one more indicator in favour of our diagnosis”.

HSP it is.  The NP spoke at length to a paediatrician at CHEO and it was advised that we hold off treatment since her symptoms had abated.  I concurred.  The biggest complication at this point is kidney involvement, which means that we will be back to the clinic for weekly urinalysis and blood pressures.  After a month it will be dropped to monthly visits, then quarterly visits for a year.  She is more likely to suffer a recurrence in this year of monitoring, and we’ll have to be watching for symptoms.

All in all, her prognosis is excellent.  It will be more annoying than worrisome to collect urine samples from a pre-potty-trained stubborn child.

We would appreciate your prayers though.

Pray for me, please!

Funny story:

When we brought Joss to the lab to get her blood drawn, she was beside herself.  She was also so lethargic and ill by then that she didn’t give half the fuss she usually would.  When it was all over, they offered her a beautiful stuffed animal to take home.  She wouldn’t even look at the basket that was proffered.  I chose a border collie and assured the lady that she would love it when we got home…

It is Holly’s dog now.  Josselyn screams every time she sees it.  It is the same kind of toy that Lamby is and feels just like Lamby did in her- ahem- early years.  Holly refers to it as her “blood dog”.  Maybe her blood hound?!

2 Responses to “We interrupt our regularly scheduled blogging to bring you this announcement…”

  1. bononers January 12, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    so so sad! poor little girl 😦
    glad that it’s all sorted out now though- sometimes the unknown is so much worse! i read that whole article that you linked to!
    praying for you two 🙂

  2. Erin January 12, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

    I’m so sad to read this Jules. I’ll definitely pray for her. I’m glad to read that the prognosis is ‘excellent’ for most people…I’ll be praying that is true for Joss!

Leave a Reply

