The Reason for the Season

24 Dec

This was my first year organizing the Christmas Concert at our church.  I have helped out in the past (usually behind my mom) but this year I was asked to do it at our current church.  I quickly proposed the idea that Mom and I had been hashing out for months, and the committee loved it.

Side note:  I swear that it was my idea, and my mom, with equal persistence, insists that she came up with this idea 20 years ago!  Needless to say, we both tackled our respective projects with determination, and both turned out well… but mine turned out better

The concept, for those of you who care about this sort of thing, was a slideshow of the Story of Christmas.  We took pictures of the Sunday School children, dressed up in costumes, and then someone photoshopped the images onto realistic backgrounds.  Another man wrote and directed a small play and we used the slideshow as a powerpoint to illustrate his words.  Then all the kids who were there on Sunday morning got up to the front and sang a few songs.

Simple.  Stress-reduced.  Captivating.

Oh, and beyond cute.

Holly was the star of the singing (if-I-do-say-so-myself).  She was by far the loudest child up there, and also front and center.  Should I mention she was one of the youngest?  She knew all the words and sang them from her heart.  I was so proud.

All the kids did very well, and I hope that they have a re-show of the slides on another morning so all the kids who were away will get to see themselves.

So, after all was said and done, Bronwyn came up to me: we had sang Away in a Manger (with the verse from Jeremiah duet) and Christmas is a Time to Love.

“Mommy, Christmas isn’t just about Love, you know”.

Visions of spoiled brats screaming that they hadn’t received enough presents were racing through my mind.  What else could I have done differently to promote the real reason for Christmas?  I explained that Santa was a fun story, but not a true story.  I told them all about Jesus in the Manger and how that really happened.  I explained all about how Christmas is a time for loving, and sharing what we have with others.  I emphasized that presents are nice to get, but that giving is more fun.  We shopped for and bought (or made) special presents to give each sister.  I only got the girls 3 things for Christmas (a book, a game, and pjs each).  We donated a pile of toys to goodwill, and we put change in the Salvation Army kettles whenever we could.  What else could I DO?!?!?

“Christmas is also about Jesus being born”.

UH…

“Where did you hear that?”

“My teacher told me”.

“Your Sunday School teacher?”

“No.”

“Your Pioneer Club leader?”

“NO- my TEACHER, Mrs. Bell!”

So, kudos to you Mrs.  Bell.  You’ll likely never read this, but I am so pleased that you are using your influence on my child to back up what I have been telling her all along.

Happy Birthday, Jesus!

2 Responses to “The Reason for the Season”

  1. Lauren Booker December 24, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    it’s so hard!!! i keep trying to explain to jonah that santa is just a guy dressed up as st. nicholas and the REAL reason for christmas is Jesus’ birthday. we’ve been telling the kids the christmas story every day for two weeks now. i think they’re finally getting it. of course, when my dad dresses up like santa…. jonah and i had a big conversation about giving and about the fact that there are children in the world who won’t have christmas. i felt like such a spoil-sport, but i want him to know that he and fia are BLESSED. he suggested that we buy ALL the toys in walmart so he could give them to kids who don’t have presents. he was so bummed when i explained that we can’t afford that! sweet kid.

    do you just feel like you’re failing to matter what? cause i do. lol.

  2. Natalie December 31, 2010 at 9:59 am #

    Great Christmas blog…it was too busy to check this until after Christmas. Yes, the slide show of the Christmas church program needs to be seen again by more than the church (permission?), and thank God for Christian teachers in the public school system and dear children wanting to learn. Matthew 18:2-3 He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them. And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, …”
    Blessed New Year too.

Leave a Reply

