You can’t always get want you want…

8 Dec

But you might just get what you need?  Or something like that?

Today we were at the doctor’s office for Josselyn’s 18 month needles.  I was surprised but pleased when we got our flu shots and she barely whimpered, so I wasn’t expecting the outrage that accompanied this visit.  She screamed from the second she saw the nurse until the second I put her coat on to go home.  Over piercing wails I tried to explain to our NP that although she had been better recently, the last few days were a trial, with Josselyn crying or fussing from the time she woke up to the time she went to bed.

“When she’s not crying, is she happy?” the NP asks?

“I don’t think you understand.  When she is like this, when she isn’t crying, she is asleep!”

The final verdict is that she is likely teething, or suffering a virus, but if she doesn’t improve in a few weeks, to bring her back for tests.

TESTS?!

“Or, you might just have to accept that she is an emotional child.”

EMOTIONAL?!?!?!?!?

Yep, that one is way worse.

Tests, illness, syndromes… that I am familiar with.  There are treatments, and although it will be terrible, it is understandable.  Roller-coaster emotions, on the other hand, is not something I know.  I mean, I am not an emotional person.  Bruce is not an emotional person.  We are level-headed, rational, even-keeled people.  Neither of us do well with highs and lows.

I explained all this to my NP.  I argued that I wasn’t qualified to handle this sort of thing.

“Well, maybe you got her for a reason.”

That stopped me short.

“And maybe you are her mother for the same reason.  So that you can teach her how to control herself and self-soothe without feeding into a negative cycle.”

I guess we’ll have to see how it goes…

One Response to “You can’t always get want you want…”

  1. Deb B December 9, 2010 at 5:46 pm #

    Third child syndrome ??

Leave a Reply

