Hunting 2010

28 Oct

We had a wonderful time away from home.  I wouldn’t call it a vacation since a) we didn’t go anywhere I’ve never been before b) Bruce and I didn’t necessarily spend all the time together.  But it was a good time nonetheless.

We had the good fortune to visit with Bruce’s grandparents while we were in Newmarket, and it was amusing to see Josselyn crumple into a heap every time GP even looked at her!

Bruce’s sister and brother-in-law were there for a night too in order to use Bronwyn as a test subject for a class Karolyn is taking.  She did pretty good, I think!

There is so much I could say about the whole trip that my brain is having a hard time remembering it all.  So, here are some clips… in no particular order.

Josselyn got scared of this:

Who ISN'T afraid of this face?

Can you blame her?!?!  But by the end of the night, she was “talking” to him like she really thought he’d be able to understand her, and she even waved and gave him a hug.  Progress.  Progress.

I learned to play pool… well… sort of!

I think I made this shot, but they were few and far between.

Elaine and I brought 7.5 children to the mall by ourselves.  AND, we brought them all home again!  I am not sure what the other patrons thought, I was scared to look them in the eye.  Also, I couldn’t afford to take my eyes OFF any of the kids!  But it went well.  We even fed them in the food court- with bagels from Tim’s, and juice and fruit and cheese we brought from home.  I felt more like a stay-at-home mom in that one hour than I have ever felt before in my life.  After we were done eating we decided to go to WalMart, and if you know the Sudbury mall at all, going to WalMart is code for casually walking by the meat and cheese place.  You know the one I mean.  The guy’s eyes literally started popping out of his head, and you just KNOW that if it were an actual store and not just a kiosk, everyone would magically and simultaneously be busy right as we walked by.  But, they had no where to run, so they politely, if grudgingly, handed out 8 samples of kolbassa… on the way there AND back!

We celebrated (early) Ethan’s 3rd birthday.  When did our babies get so old?  If Ethan turns 3 soon, that means Holly isn’t far behind.

We met up with old friends of Bruce’s, in Newmarket, and had a great time together.  Our kids got to play with their kids, and Holly is still talking about her new friend, Jorgia.  We attended an awesome wedding- SO MUCH FUN!

The girls got to play with their 2nd cousins.  We only see them at holidays, and so it was great to have a belated Thanksgiving feast at Aunt Carol’s and Uncle Wayne’s place.  Nearly everyone made it, and we took the opportunity for this:

 

9 great grandchildren, and one on the way!

 

Isn’t that a great picture?  It is (un)surprisingly difficult to capture 9 children under the age of 6 all smiling and looking at the camera.

 

All three of these kids were born within 3 months of each other... and they all turned/are turning 3 this fall!

 

Allison was showing Holly this mini-pumpkin and Holly was so impressed.  Clearly, Ethan had seen this sort of thing before…

 

Autumn Beauties

 

Bronwyn and Holly discovered that performing for a crowd earned them praise and applause, and so they would sing Raffi’s “Numbers Rumba” to anyone who would listen.  Alternately, they wowed us with versions of the Alphabet song, Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, and anything else that came to mind.  But my favourite, by far, was Holly’s made-up song about a dragon, a princess, and a Lamby.  I’ll leave it to your imaginations how that song went!  Hint: it was a ballad involving a Princess named Holly who rescued a Lamby from an evil dragon.

After Josselyn observed these performances for awhile, she decided she couldn’t be left out any longer, and, pushing Holly off the stage, she loudly “sang” *something* and started wildly clapping for herself.  She looked around waiting for our applause, and it wasn’t far behind.  She made us listen to her (and clap) for at least 10 minutes.  So proud.  So cute.

I could go on all day about all the cute things that were said and done, but I’ll leave you with two more:

Elaine: Ethan you are driving me nuts, you run circles around me!

Ethan: They are more ovals, I think.

And #2:

Bruce and my dad got a cow this year, but it was disappointing because, although the hunt was scheduled to begin at 7:30am Monday morning, they crew got a call from the radio at 7:25 indicating that a moose was down.  So, they didn’t even get to start before it was all over… maybe next year guys.  I will say that the one piece we’ve had so far has been the best moose I have ever eaten.

 

 

6 Responses to “Hunting 2010”

  1. Karolyn October 28, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    Cute cute pictures, and YES I totally know that meat and cheese place and have to stop by it every time we go to the mall.

  2. bononers October 28, 2010 at 9:18 pm #

    you’re so intense in that pool shot!!! loved all the photos. who’s baby is on the way? elaine’s? (deducing from the 7.5 kids thing…)

  3. amanda October 28, 2010 at 9:50 pm #

    That is one quick hunt! 🙂
    Barrie has one of those booths at this time of year. And I can only imagine the look. 8I
    The stories and pics are just too funny. We really need to make it Sudbury if/when you’re up there over Christmas!

  4. Elaine October 29, 2010 at 9:14 pm #

    I felt guilty enough to buy a kolbassa and cheese from the guy. So we didn’t just sample and run!

    I don’t believe your take on Joss warming up to “The Bob” without pictorial proof. 😛

  5. Aunty Denise November 6, 2010 at 1:35 am #

    The picture of all the children together are beautiful and very well done . I could just imagine how difficult this must have been or …..they are all little angels ….loving to get their picture taken
    much love to all

  6. stacy December 1, 2010 at 1:01 am #

    makes me want to drink alchoholic beverages

Leave a Reply

