Not a teenage Mom…

20 Sep

I feel a rant coming on…

Today I had a great day with my girls (sans B of course) and I decided to grab the bull by the horns and make just one more stop on my way home.  I hurried the kids into the pharmacy to pick up a prescription.  It is ongoing and I get more when I run out.  There was no one in the store when I arrived, but about 3 people came in behind me, including the Purolator guy who looked like he was in a hurry.  I quickly asked one of the employees behind the counter if I could pick up a prescription.  She responded with the usual questions of my name, the drug, had I had it before etc.  I explained that it was on record there and that I just came in to get my next batch.  She responded with, “oh, we owe you some then?”  Sure.  Whatever.  The kids are acting up and there is a line-up behind me.  They seemed confused as to my request, so I told them I’d be back after I finished my groceries.

Fast-forward 30 minutes…

I re-enter the store and am pleased to see fewer customers.  The kids are happy again after snacks at the deli, and I smile at the girl behind the counter and ask if she’s sorted out my prescription yet.  This is when the pharmacist barrels over and proceeds to give me a lecture on the difference between the words “owe” and “refill”.

EXCUSE ME?!?!?!?

First, I was not the person who used the word “owe”- that would be his own employee.  Not that I would tell him that.  After all, she has to work with him, and I just buy his drugs.

Second, is this really appropriate?  I mean, give me my pills, smile, and say that you are sorry to have kept me waiting.  Remember, you have a store to run, real estate to rent, salaries to pay, and overhead to budget for.  Can you afford to alienate your customers?  Loyal customers?  Clearly “refill” would have been clearer, but as I said, I didn’t use the word “owe”, and I would have said anything to get the girl to hurry up!

Third, I am not a moron.  Because I guarantee you that had I rushed in on my lunch hour in a power suit with a briefcase instead of a diaper bag, I would never have been treated to a dissertation on the meaning of 2 words at a Gr 8 reading level.  Why would you assume that since I am in jeans and Crocs and am hauling around 2 kids under 3 that I am an idiot?  I appreciate that the medical field does not pay you the respect you think you deserve, but to take out your impotent superiority complex on a woman who (apparently) has no skill set other than the ability to breed, is insulting at best.  I have an undergraduate degree in the same field that refuses to give credit to your contributions, and I choose to stay at home to raise my children.  Lucky for me, my husband supports my choices, is not embarrassed to have a wife who stays at home, and makes enough money to support all of us without my having to take on a job.  Can your wife say that Mr. Pharmacist?  Well, can she?

I am so tired of the looks that say, “oh, kids before 35, I guess she’ll never go to college now”.  Seriously, can you see my ring?  The big one on my left hand?  This life is my choice, and I feel blessed that I can live out my life the way I want to.  I can work later, but my kids will only be young once.

5 Responses to “Not a teenage Mom…”

  1. Karolyn September 20, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    AMEN SISTER!!!!!

  2. Jess September 20, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    Bravo ~ Beautifully articulated my dear friend!

  3. Laura MacNeil September 20, 2010 at 5:15 pm #

    Woot! Amen Sister!

  4. Erin September 21, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    PREACH IT JULIE!!!

  5. vanessa October 29, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    AMEN.

Leave a Reply

