First Day of the End of her Life

9 Sep

Bronwyn started school on Tuesday.  If I were a better, more devoted blogger, you would have known that already.  But, I think I am doing well to just have this published within the first week!

Bruce and I went away for the long weekend, and only arrived home Monday in time for supper and bedtime (more on that later) and so I had hardly any chance to work myself up over the fact that my baby was going to be spending 8.25 hours every day not in my company.  I had been prepping Bronwyn for weeks prior to September 7 and we had gone over countless scenarios related to school, the bus, and anything else I could think of.  We went over rules that applied to school, and etiquette on the bus.  I described which seat she should sit in (I did forget to tell her there would be no seatbelts… she really liked that part!!), and who would walk her to her class.  We packed her lunch (I mean her two lunches- why not just call one of them a snack?!?!?), and wrote her name in her shoes.  We braved the crowds at WalMart to get a new backpack (or pack sack as we used to say, and apparently the Principal still does!) the day before our trip because I panicked and worried that hers wasn’t big enough.  On an aside.  Her old pack got handed down to Josselyn, who proudly wore it to the Early Years’ Center the next day like a big girl!

So, we were ready.

Bruce woke everyone up at 7:30 and I started my new routine: me dressed, kids eat breakfast while I pack lunches, Bronwyn dressed by 8am, and then teeth, final check and out the door.  The first day I brought everyone outside.  I took some pictures and then carefully tucked the camera away.  No use embarrassing her on the first day.  Even though I would have loved a pic beside the bus…

The routine is evolving now.  The girls stay inside while I walk Bronwyn to the bus stop (or run to the bus stop… chasing the bus on only the third day does not bode well for the remainder of the year and my never-miss-the-bus resolution).  I should mention my first conversation with the bus driver though:

Me:  Good morning, what is your name?

Jim: Jim.

Me:  This is Bronwyn, indicating my progeny who is now halfway to the back of the bus, she is so excited.

Jim:  Hey, you, what is her name?!? you sit in the front.

Me:  Your seat is the front, hon.

Jim:  I can’t pick her up here.

Me:  (confused) What?

Jim:  I can’t stop here, you’ll have to walk her to the top of the hill.

Me:  Oh, ok.

Jim:  It is too dangerous, a car could rear-end me on this corner.

Me:  Yeah I understand.

Jim:  So you’ll have to bring her to the top of the hill.

Me:  Yes, I get it.  Thank you.

Jim:  So, tomorrow, top of the hill.

Me: (smiling through teeth) Got it, thanks.

This is when he started driving away, not letting me get across the road to make sure Holly doesn’t walk in front of the bus at the last second.  Yeah, real safe.  Picture more eye-rolling here.

Anyway, bus stop crisis averted (I was so sure that Bronwyn would either refuse to get on, or try to get off immediately) I headed back to the house to sit beside the phone for the next 8 hours.  For all you people who listened patiently while I chattered about nothing all day I give you a big THANK YOU.  I had to keep busy, but I could NOT bring myself to leave the house.

Long story short, the school never called for me to come and get her.  She jumped off the bus at 4:05 full of stories and bursting to tell me every minute detail of her day asking for a snack.  I checked her lunch bag(s) and hardly anything had been eaten.  “I didn’t have time” she said.  “Well, what did you do, then?”  “I don’t know”.

And so it begins.

And, seriously, that is pretty much all the information I got out of her.

“Did you sing any songs?”

“No.”

“Did you play any games?”

“No.”

“Did you play with any of the toys?”

“No.”

“Were there any toys?”

“Yeah.”

“Like what?”

“I don’t know.”

This went on all night.  I finally got out of her that there are trucks, she rode a bike at recess (with no helmet), no one would talk to her, and she made no friends.  They didn’t sing any songs, and they read a book, but she didn’t know which one.  They took them to the bathroom in groups, and had recess twice. The boy down the street told me that Bronwyn had fallen asleep on the bus on the way home.  He sat with her the next day and talked with her to keep her awake.  What a kid!

Bronwyn seemed kind of bummed that she hadn’t made any friends yet and I suggested that maybe no one talked to her because they were all too busy missing their mommies.  She looked at me with those frank eyes of hers and said, “why would they be missing their mommies?”.  “I don’t know, didn’t you miss your mommy?”  “No.”

Ahhh, I guess it is better this way.

First Day of JK

6 Responses to “First Day of the End of her Life”

  1. Karolyn September 9, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    Awwww! Wow, sounds like B is doing A LOT better than I did when I entered to Kindergarten! Miss Independent. She’s growing up so fast. Bittersweet.

  2. Jessica September 9, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    hey Julie…. I totally understand the complete lack of information from usually informative kids…. the best and most information is gained is by putting Sydney on the phone with my mom or any of my sisters and she seems to tell them WAY more details and I just sit and eavesdrop!

    Glad that she is adjusting well, as much as I would like my child to miss me when she’s at school or maybe cry one tear as she gets on the bus to foreverville…. she doesn’t and I don’t think that grass is much greener on the other side of the fence (with the screaming,clingy, guilt inducing child)

    Wait until EVERYONE is at school for a morning. You won’t know what to do with yourself, then you’ll have another baby to shatter the silence 🙂

  3. Julie September 9, 2010 at 1:10 pm #

    Just like you are doing, right Jess?! Are the twins in school this year?

  4. aunty linda September 9, 2010 at 6:30 pm #

    she is too little to be going to school.
    you are too little to be going to school.
    WHERE has the time gone????

  5. Natalie September 10, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    So that’s how to do it! eavesdrop…you can picture me doing this with Bruce…not 🙂

    Can’t picture the top of the hill, but it may become a lot of work to get there in the snow.

    Yep, your kids love their mommy and daddy, but they are blessed to “love the one they’re with” which makes it easy on the substitutes when you are off in the wilds of Ontario.

    Is that “Kitty” that was chosen to accompany Bronwyn on her first day of school?…this would be to preserve Baby Pig, right?

    Very precious day and precious girl…take those pictures not only at the bus and train her now not to be embarrassed of her proud parents. Jim, the bus driver may have not wanted his picture taken as you may have surmised and it is always nice to be of to a good start with the bus driver by the sounds of it.

  6. 床墊 September 30, 2010 at 1:48 am #

    Simply, one of the best article l have come across on this precious subject. I quite agree with your suppositions and will eagerly look forward to your forthcoming updates.

Leave a Reply

