I think they should stay this age forever…

30 Aug

Bronwyn turned 4 last month.  I know, and I am only mentioning it now…

I decided to have an actual birthday party for her.  Friends, games, crafts and cake.  It was small, and old-fashioned, and she had a blast!  The look of pride on her face when all her friends sang “Happy Birthday” and she blew out her candles was worth every second of planning and preparation.  It also cemented in my mind the idea that birthdays do not have to be extravagant to be special.

Pin the tiara on the princess- girly twist on a classic!

Blowing out candles with all her friends

Bronwyn was thrilled to be the center of attention for a day, and basked in the limelight.  She was helpful in the morning (hanging decorations for me, and colouring the tables outside), and well-behaved all day.  And, you know what?  Since she turned 4 she has remained a thoughtful, helpful, polite child.  Is that what being 4 does to you?  If so, I like 4!!  I like it a lot.

Bronwyn’s foray into her 5th year can (so far) be characterized by one new attribute: inventiveness.  Spell check didn’t fault me on that one, so it might even be a real word!!  She has promise to be an inventor.  She designs toys for her sisters to play with, using a lot of string, tape and imagination.  She finds new ways to do things, and is fascinated when she discovers something new.  The other day she told me that her Littlest Pet Shop dog will stick to the wall if you wet his paws.  Amazing!  Who would have believed it?!  Not Bruce, who tested her theory and determined that it was actually sticking to the wall because of a small magnet in the toy and the magnetic strip that corners the walls!  She wasn’t at all perturbed that her hypothesis was incorrect.  She loves magnets too, so this was just as cool.

Baby gate?

Can't stop her!

She is also enthralled by magic and is an amateur magician’s best fan!  She loves to have Bruce pull stuff “out of her ear” and will demand to see it over and over again.  I give her a few more weeks before she figures out the trick.

She also loves to dress up her stuffies with any bits of cloth or paper she can find, routinely fixating them with elastics, string and tape.  She can tie a good knot, and her tiny fingers tie even tinier packages.

She starts school in a week, and I have mixed emotions.  I want her to fly.  To soar and be successful.  But I also want to protect her from all the pain I am setting her up for.

I love you Bronwyn Marlys- and I am so proud of you.

4 going on 24

2 Responses to “I think they should stay this age forever…”

  1. Amanda August 30, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    What a beauty!!! 🙂
    I love that you had a simple birthday party. I was just saying the other day to a friend how children’s birthday parties have become way too extravagant, it makes it difficult to even afford to ATTEND the parties. What ever happened to having some friends over, playing some games, eating some pizza, cake and icecream, and going home with a goody bag???
    I am reading your blog and thinking of my oldest who is three and how quickly they grow up…it’s a lot different being a mom of a baby and a mom of a little girl, isn’t it?? But so precious….

  2. Natalie August 30, 2010 at 4:43 pm #

    Four years of age are when my memories became very sharp for childhood. Prior to that, I guess with my siblings (four children within 5 years), I probably didn’t realize my separate identity. Bronwyn’s memory of her “simple” birthday party will be processed time and again with good feelings and the balance of sharing and being loved. Yes, she is figuring things out at a rapid pace…and it is fun to see the “gears churn” just by looking at her expressions.

    Oh yes, she is adorable, lovable, enjoyable, precious, beautiful…and now 4 years of age. Much to celebrate, and it looks like you did a great job celebrating.

Leave a Reply

