USAway

19 Apr

Well, I apologize for the lack of updating in my life, but when you read the following series of postings, you will understand why.  My parents recently purchased a second motor home.  They invited me, my sister Elaine, and our 5 collective children to join them for the trip home.  I would have mentioned this before we left, but Easter weekend (the weekend before the trip) we all got some sad news.  The first was that a friend of ours was diagnosed with Lymphoma and receiving treatment in Ottawa.  My sister and I immediately made plans for her family to come here for the weekend with the idea that we would leave the children with the men and spend a day hanging out with Lisa, and shopping.  The day after they arrived, we received more bad news.  My grandma had been in a fatal motorcycle accident.

My Grandma- any excuse for cake!

Our plans changed again.  Elaine and I hopped in the car to drive straight to… you thought I was going to say Sudbury, didn’t you?!!?… Ottawa to see Lisa.  We had a nice visit, and made a hasty return to our place thinking we would need to leave asap in the morning.  The news arrived that the funeral wouldn’t be until Friday, and we were given some breathing room.

We left for Sudbury Tuesday after Bible Study, but it was still hectic.  Cleaning and Packing and Driving took all my energy, and when we arrived, I was grateful to just sit around the house and devour home-cooked meals and desserts that kind-hearted folk had dropped off.

The funeral was nice, as funerals go, and there were many many Verna jokes.  We lamentated that Grandma would have had the most fun at a gathering of all her friends and loved ones, and she was the only one missing!

That night, after supper, we tucked all the kids into their carseats and started in on the 6oo km or so drive to Buffalo.  Long story short, by the time I got to close my eyes again (from 6:30 am Friday) it was 12:30 am Saturday.

The hole where Bruce fell through the ice when he went fishing the Saturday of Easter weekend...

Bronwyn sporting Auntie Gussie's new hat

To Be Continued…

5 Responses to “USAway”

  1. Amanda April 19, 2010 at 6:20 pm #

    Bruce fell through the ice?
    Beautiful pic of your grandma too. As I’ll remember her…smiling from ear to ear.

  2. Natalie April 19, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    …will wait “patiently” for the next chapter. Things a mom never knows about should include her “near 30” son falling through ice and living to not tell about it.

  3. Natalie April 19, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    …although I’ve expressed shared grief for missing your wonderful Grandma Verna, I can’t help but reiterate… I love her too! YES, she was and is loved. My s-in-law cross-stitched, “The greatest joy is to love and to be loved.” Her smile and disposition indicated both.

  4. Erin April 20, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    Julie
    Your Gandma looks like she would be lots of fun…I mean any Grandma that rides motorcycles has got to be fun. My parents knew her from the bike club and really liked her. I’m sorry for your loss!

    And Bruce falling through the ice, I’m actually concerned as to what happened and how he is. I’m sure I would have heard if something was very serious but please don’t make me be too patient;)

    And finally I am SOOOOOOO happy I got to see you and the whole gang…it made my month!

    Looking forward to part 2.
    Love Erin

  5. Erin April 24, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    Alright Julie…you’re leaving me in limbo a little too long!

Leave a Reply

