Things that make me… SMILE!

24 Feb

Smile 1:  My basement is currently 37 degrees Celsius.  The upstairs is a respectable 22.6 if you are wondering.  I am not trying to turn my whole house into a steamer.  Although…

I am getting fed up with all the snow, and winter, and the difficulties that present themselves with said snow and winter.  Like when I got the van stuck at the top of the driveway last week (on our way back luckily).  Or the intense frustration I feel when I am trying to get everyone dressed to go outside and I turn around and someone has undone all my hard work.  Usually because they want to “do by mine SELF”.

So, when my parents proposed a trip to TEXAS!  I was all aboard!  However, the plans are currently on hold due to… you guessed it… snow.  Texas has 1″ of snow right now, and my dad doesn’t want to drive home the new RV in a snowstorm regardless.  So we will go after Easter.

In the meantime…  37 DEGREES!

Smile 2:  Bronwyn has been picking her clothes for a few months now.  Mostly everything matches, mainly because I make an effort to make sure her clothes all go together when I buy them, and because she has a pretty conservative taste when it comes to these things.  Holly, on the other hand…

Holly decided to wear a hot pink with white polka dot shirt, with orangey-red with white polka dot leggings.  “SAME, Mommy”, she cried, holding them up.  Uh, close enough!

Smile 3: I now have a sign up button on my blog.  Feel free to use it to get emails telling you when I have updated this site.  I will be happier without the “did you blog yet today” questions, and you will be happier knowing you will never miss out on the next mundane aspect of my life!

Smile 4: I discovered I am living in Bizarro world.  My sister, Elaine and I both have 3 “mommy” girlfriends that we hang out with regularly.  And they are the same people.  I can say this with authority because I know Elaine’s friends, and while she has only met mine, she was the one who pointed it out.  Nicole is Amanda, Andrea is Julia and Elizabeth is Katrina (PLEASE don’t move to Asia, Elizabeth!!).  Weird.

Smile 5:  I have been feeding Josselyn probiotic yogourt with excellent results.  Her digestive tract is healthier and more regular.  Recently, I discovered PC’s new brand of probiotic yogourt with the unique blend of HOWARU bacteria.  Get it?!  I grin every time I see it on the package.

Smile 6:  Josselyn has slept through the night for over a week!!  I, however, have only slept through maybe one of those nights.  Either, I am waking waiting for her to waken, or one of the others needs me.  But, there is light at the end of the tunnel!

Smile 7: Monday morning I looked at the clock and realized that if we were not out the door in 25 minutes, Bruce wouldn’t get his lunch on time.  I managed to make Bruce’s lunch, feed the girls, get everyone dressed (including myself), and get them out the door in the snow, remembering extra clothes, favourite stuffies, and even snacks for later.  Applause please!

The best part?  Bronwyn made her own sandwich, cut it, ate it, and put away her dishes.  And got herself dressed.  AND, it actually helped, not hindered me!!  My baby is growing up… sniff sniff.

9 Responses to “Things that make me… SMILE!”

  1. Sarah C February 24, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    I didn’t realize you were seriously planning a trip to Texas! We would love to see you!

    I’m going to have to start reading your blog regularly. We have so much in common with our three little ones, though I have to admit that boys are soooo different than girls!

    Your comment about Holly dressing herself is so cute. Elizabeth is that way too. Now that she is potty trained, I find her changing clothes all the time, ’cause she wants to wear a different pair of panties!

  2. Karolyn February 24, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

    I remember when I was really little getting so upset with anyone who asked me if I was dressed when I had CLEARLY chosen and put on my own clothes! Wish I could see what Holly put on, what a cutie!

  3. Erin February 24, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    Smile #8 – the smile on my face when I read your blogs!

    …also I love Holly’s sense of style!

  4. Julie February 24, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    Smile #9: 80 hits to the blog today! Thanks for the love everyone!!

  5. Elaine February 24, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    I think you need to go back and clarify who ACTUALLY found the PC brand of yogurt with the HOWARU probiotic in it.

    Just sayin’.

    And it’s true, you do live in Bizarro world!!

  6. katrina February 25, 2010 at 1:19 am #

    Having a rough day over here in Asia ;o) And Kristin told me to come and read your blog because it would make me smile.

    He was right.

  7. Julie February 26, 2010 at 3:10 pm #

    Smile #10: Record number of hits to the blog yesterday, guys!! Thanks for your support!

  8. Amanda February 27, 2010 at 12:23 am #

    First off…your parents got a new RV?! I knew they were “looking” but that was almost 2 years ago. BTW, the way this winter is going, July may be a good time for the Texas trip! 😉
    As for all the smiles – you definitely have reasons to smile!

  9. Amanda February 28, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    I’m being lazy…this was just easier than email…although I could have posted this on FB (okay I’ll stop rambling now). http://www.topblogs.ca/index.php?&cat=Family-and-Parenting
    You really should enter your blog here…

Leave a Reply

