Twenty five years too late

17 Feb

Better late than never, though, right mom?

I have an apology to make.  To my parents.  To my sister, Elaine.  To my other siblings.

I am SO sorry for all the times I ever purposely talked over another sibling, either to solidify my place in the “sibline” or for sheer amusement.  Come on though, it was fuuny to see how angry it made Elaine when I made fun of her by referring to us as twins.  Or how angry it made Stephanie to talk over her like she wasn’t there.

But, no worries, family of mine.  I am being repaid.

We had a nothing-short-of-a-fist-fight argument at the breakfast table today over who would get to sing “Baby Beluga”.  Who would sing it first, loudest, best, with the most words, “prettier“.  GAH!  I am about to yank my hair out and shove it in their mouths

So, it has taken this long, but I am beginning to understand how, as a child, I did not make my parents’ lives easy.  Maybe I even contributed to the madness.  Maybe I am not the perfect child I always thought I was.  Maybe I am being dealt two-fold (PLEASE not three-fold!!! PLEASE!!!!!!) for the aggravation I caused all those years ago…

Good thing I was such a mild, thoughtful, clean, responsible teenager, or I’d really have something to worry about!

5 Responses to “Twenty five years too late”

  1. John Howarth February 17, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    Julie, these “happenings” and sayings, are SO adorable!! PLEASE collect them and put them in a book some day.

    The girls melt my heart!

    You are an excellent writer, and have a real gift…keep the “Reality Blog” coming.

    Love, Dad/Grandpa H.

  2. John Howarth February 17, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    Julie, these “happenings” and sayings are TOO cute and SO adorable! Please put these blogs into a book some day–in your spare time!

    The girls melt my heart.

    You are an EXCELLENT writer, with a real gift. Keep this “Reality Blog” coming!

  3. Amanda February 17, 2010 at 8:28 pm #

    You have no idea how much I am laughing at this…because I know you and know what the household was like 🙂 And…because I have this as an almost daily occurance in my grade 6 (yes, grade six, don’t count your blessings yet) classroom. And they’re not even siblings. OY!

  4. Elaine February 24, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    I do NOT accept you apology!! 😛

    just kidding. I still love you.

  5. Elaine February 24, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    *your

Leave a Reply

