Odds and Ends

16 Feb

Elaine (my sister) and her two boys came for a visit last week.  Her husband then joined them for just the long weekend.  He was able to drive Bruce’s new truck here, and then return home with his family.

They left yesterday, and I am, frankly, at a loss.  I spent most of the night just randomly tidying things up, and went to bed early.  This morning, Holly ran into my room and heard Bruce coming up the stairs.  “Efan?!” she cried joyously.  “No, it’s daddy!” I exclaimed exuberantly.  Her face fell.  “Oh”.

Poor Bruce.

Luckily I have spring weather symptoms to keep me engaged until we see them again.  I went for my first run of 2010 yesterday.  It felt great.  I got to break in my new runners some more, and felt like a total poser in my LuluLemon hat and gloves.  I might have made it further than I did but my dog kept falling behind.  He’s a lab and six years old, and his joints are starting to feel the cold weather.  I ended up doing sprints all the way back home while I waited for him to catch up.  Tonight it will be just me and Dude.  Dude could have 3 broken legs and have to run on his snout and he’d still be racing laps around me.

A little update from around here: Josselyn has started sleeping through the night.  Two of the last four nights she has woken up around 3:30am but put herself back to sleep.  Of course, I am still waking up at night.  Nearly 9 months of waking up at the same time every night does not get re-learned in a week.  No wonder children have difficulty learning to sleep!

Bronwyn just walked in and asked when she will be getting chicken pox.  She looked positively broken-hearted when I explained that she had been vaccinated and she likely would never get them.  Oh the betrayal!  She was positive she’d be getting them soon, since “everyone gets chicken pox before they start school, mommy everyone knows THAT!“.  How did she ever end up with such a dense woman as her mother?

Here’s another one:

“Mom, I don’t want to go to Heaven before you”.

“No, that would be a tragedy”.

“You can go first, and then I will go second”.

“What about daddy?”

“Oh sure, he can go too, he IS getting old”.

That will have to tide you over for a while, I need to go and explain to Bronwyn what a “customer” is.

2 Responses to “Odds and Ends”

  1. joan February 16, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    i can’t wait to come visit you guys! so glad that you’re such a faithful blogger these days… it’s great to hear what you’ve been up to!

  2. Natalie February 17, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    Yep, let’s do acupuncture on Nevis. Good practice before using on Bronwyn’s aging daddy, before he gets to heaven. Oh yes, then there are those knees you need to protect too…take it easier with some shock absorbers in the shoes too?

    BTW, I found a surprise left in my mailbox (stuffed frog and cookie) today for Valentine’s day. Glad you checked your mailbox too, finally.

    Nice blog…keep it up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

