Superbowl Sunday

7 Feb

Yep, so there is a lot of football going on in the other room.  Since I have absolutely zero interest in whether the Saints will defeat the Colts (my opinion?  Not a chance…) I have decided to come in here instead and let you know that I am not dead.  I will assume you forgive my blogging drought- although even I am getting tired of the old “I have 3 kids, and a house, and so many activities, and am so BUUUUSSSSYYYYYY blah blah blah whine” excuse.

So, what is new?  Well, Bruce and I celebrated the big 0-6 last weekend.  Insert gasps over how old we are how many years we’ve been married.  Crazy, right?!  We certainly have accomplished a lot.  Three kids, 2 houses (and an apartment), FOUR new vehicles (3 brand-new), 2 canoes, a basement reno, a vacation to Cuba (honeymoon, but it counts!!), 2 trips to NYC, and like 100 000 km traveling around Ontario!  There are still things we want to accomplish.  To do.  To see.  With the kids, and without.

We have a trip to Halifax planned for the summer.  And maybe, if everything goes well, a trip to Taiwan in the next 2 years.

I never would have guessed, 6 years ago, that this is where we would be.  But my plans were dull and uninteresting.  I’d love some more money (who wouldn’t?!), but there isn’t anything I would change.

I love my husband.  We are in a good routine right now, and a good place overall.  I know this because I have the energy to devote to improving myself.  An activity that gets shoved aside when I go into survival mode. And, yes, the last year has been like that.  But we can see the light.

Josselyn is a new baby.  Easier to read, perhaps?  Happier overall?  Secure in her place in the family?  I don’t know.  And, frankly, I don’t care.  She is a beautiful, determined, necessary addition to our family.  Without her, something would always be missing.

I have struggled with knowing when our family is complete.  People always said you would just know.  And I do know…now.  But it wasn’t sudden, and it wasn’t expected.  I debated with myself, with Bruce, with God.  I polled my friends.  I weighed the pros and cons.  And in the end, I just knew.

So, we are done.  It took a little while to say it out loud to someone other than Bruce.  But with practice, it gets easier.  I mourn the loss of the idea of having  4 kids.  But am at complete peace with the decision to stop at 3.  Our 3 beautiful, talented, intelligent daughters will be enough for me.  More than enough, maybe, in their teen years…

I am looking forward to the Spring (perhaps a little early?) and all the newness it brings.  It will be the longest I have ever gone without being pregnant, and that is a thought that makes me happy!

4 Responses to “Superbowl Sunday”

  1. Aunty Gus February 8, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    Not a chance for the Saints to beat the Colts? Ha!
    That shows you, sucka!
    I don’t really care about football, but I like to cheer for the underdogs. I also didn’t think NO would win. But I was still cheering for them.
    I went to a Supoer Bowl party at Mulligan’s (the indoor gold place that my boss owns). It was fun, almost everyone at my table won something except for ME!

  2. Natalie February 8, 2010 at 11:38 pm #

    …wondered if you would be watching the Superbowl…good thing you aren’t a betting woman. It was rather interesting…I’d watch, go do something else during half-time and other times (like commercials, and breaking longer than the commercials). Feel sorry for Marlys and Jose after all the cheering they have done the last year (and many years previous)…but at least they know how to share other peoples’ joy.

    Wish all kids had the loving parenting that you guys show.Yes, about the “just knowing”…you just wait when the kids start asking you for another one. Don’t need to tell you guys, “ENJOY”…you are. Hold on to the ordinary day…it is life right now. Blessings, and so proud of yoru 3 little girls…they are indeed beautiful and a blessing.

  3. Krystal Ghent February 9, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Hi Julie!

    Glad to hear that I am not the only one struggling with knowing when OUR family is complete. Thank-you for so honestly sharing your thoughts on the subject. I too feel like I am mourning the loss of not having more children. Do you think that maybe no matter how many children you have, you would always feel a little sad knowing that you will never be pregnant again? I feel that way.

    Can’t wait for spring either!!!

    Enjoy your girls…

    Krystal

  4. Julie February 16, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    All right, so my Superbowl predictions were way off. Want to hear my Olympic predictions?!?!?

Leave a Reply

