So so old…

21 Jan

I think I am getting old.  Not literally- I mean I am not even turning 30 this year.  Unlike another member of this household who shall remain nameless.  But I am feeling it.  I am just that bit stiffer, that bit fatter, and my oldest daughter starts school this year.  Yep, you heard me.  School.  Like on a bus, all day, away from me school.  It was all pretty theoretical until today when I arrived at the Early Years Centre and overheard someone talking about the “School’s Cool” kindergarten readiness program.  So I signed Bronwyn up.  And then I signed her up for a 6- week preschool program.  Then I called her future school and set a date to come in to register her for the 2010-2011 school year.

Hold me.

I just got used to having 3 kids, and now one of them is being taken away from me.  I have talked to other moms about how when their kids start kindergarten or preschool or go to daycare, there is a real change in the behaviour.  For the worse.  Am I prepared for that?  And what am I going to do all day with only 2 kids?  Maybe we should have a fourth!

Also, I’ve been thinking.  My mom and I were both the same age when we had our first kid (that would be moi), and I remember looking at her and thinking she was SO OLD.  I mean, really mom old.  Like responsible, and un-fun, and old.  Now I am that age, and I don’t feel that old.  I feel, well, like I am in my late twenties.  Granted, I don’t go out much.  And when I do, it is usually a quiet affair.  I don’t dress up for anything, and I don’t do anything spontaneous- well how can I?!  With the exception of curling (a whole year ago) I can count on one hand the number of times we hired a sitter in 2009!

Admitting to myself that Josselyn is my last baby, and starting to move our family forward has pushed me from “young mom with young kids” to “too old to start over-has a kid in SCHOOL for crying out loud-where is my career-MOTHER”.

Bring on the anti-wrinkle cream folks, I am getting old.

Making monsters out of play-doh, spaghetti, and puffed wheat- does she look old enough to go to school? I didn't think so!

6 Responses to “So so old…”

  1. Amanda January 21, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    If you’re old, I must have one foot in the grave then! 🙂 Although it is hard to believe that B is starting school, it doesn’t seem like it’s been that long since we came to visit as a 5-day old B slept in my lap. Oy! (I think she was about 5-days old) You’ll survive it though…and…we don’t have kids and don’t make it out much, don’t even think of dressing up. I’m old too.

  2. linda morgan January 21, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    I don’t think that JK or daycare necessarily prompts bad behaviour in kids…they might be more tired and a bit prone to crankiness for the first bit, they may even try some behaviour strategies they see in other kids, but thats all setting the scene for you to help them learn a life lesson…
    socializing, learning to trust other adults in their lives, and understanding that they have a life outside of the house isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

  3. Natalie January 21, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    You are the perfect age, Julie, and this may never change…”29 and holding” is what is frequently said.

    She is so creative at home with her spaghetti playdough puffed eyed monster, markers, and magnetic letters that she may not have time to go to school.

  4. Elaine January 22, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    you’ll never know how comforting it is that I will NEVER be as old as you! hehe!

    B is totally ready for school. She’s gonna do awesome!!

    and you can still be the fun mom, you just have to work a bit harder at it! LOL!

  5. Karolyn January 26, 2010 at 9:39 pm #

    OK, now you’re making ME feel old…

Leave a Reply

