Full circle

23 Dec

My mom admitted to me on the phone this morning that she couldn’t find a gift she thought she purchased for my sister.  “I thought I bought three things but I can only find two.  And now I am wondering if I even bought the third thing, or just dreamed it, because I can’t even remember what it was!”

As I gently laughed at her, inside I was rolling on the floor.  How could she LOSE a present?  And not even remember what it was supposed to be?!?!?

Later this morning I went to the laundry room to put in a new load of clothes (or reboot the laundry as FLYlady puts it!!), and as I shoved the wet ones into the dryer I noticed something was off.  Why didn’t they smell all Gain-freshness-y?  Where was the Apple Mango Tango scent?  And why did they smell like… pee?!  Could it be that I forgot to put soap into the washing machine when I turned it on this morning? 

Apparently I am not so unlike my mother after all. 

Which, except the chronic losing things, isn’t such a bad thing.

Me and my mom

28 years later...

4 Responses to “Full circle”

  1. Julie December 23, 2009 at 12:38 pm #

    I couldn’t get that second picture to be any bigger- but check it out- we’re wearing the same pyjamas!!

  2. Elaine December 23, 2009 at 5:55 pm #

    WOWZA! you look a lot like mom when she was younger. Good story. I think we’re all doomed to have her memory…

  3. Amanda December 23, 2009 at 9:11 pm #

    As posted by yours truly on Twitter this morning…

    “nascar_girl_24

    I just realized I did an entire load of laundry with no soap or fabric softener. Oops! Let’s try that again. about 7 hours ago from TweetDeck ”

    Personally, I’m blaming it on the fact that I am on holidays and therefore not even remotely paying attention…or perhaps it was something over Ontario since we both did it!

  4. Erin December 23, 2009 at 10:51 pm #

    Auntie Debbie is fantastic! Definitely someone whho you don’t mind turning into!

Leave a Reply

