Not a snowballs chance in… how does that saying go?!

14 Dec

Today, I was sitting at the kitchen table in my pyjmamas feeding Josselyn when I heard a tiny tapping on my bedroom kitchen door (Edgar Allen Poe fans anyone?).  It was the pastor’s wife looking to borrow a stroller, but that is not what this post is about.  The point is that I jumped up to help her and left Josselyn in her high chair.  Then, when I returned inside 10 minutes later, I didn’t even finish feeding the child, but continued straight on into my bedroom to grab the next load of laundry.  I took it downstairs and promtly got sidetracked by the computer.  By the time I returned upstairs it had been another 20 minutes.  And what was my baby doing all this time? 

Nothing.

Seriously.  I found her patiently waiting for me to return.  She was staring at the wall and sucking on her sleeve.  She looked up when I entered the room and started fussing.  Like, well as long as you are here you might as well pay attention to me.  But if you are not within eyesight, I guess I can entertain myself.

Such a transformation.  Words cannot express how much happier she is.  Since her 6 month update last week, she has actually started sleeping through the night.  Down at 6pm and up at 6am.  Good enough.  And she figured out how to poop.  She doesn’t scream every time she has to pass a little gas.  In fact, she sort of grins.  You can read the pride all over her face.  She still doesn’t like fruit though…

The other big thing going on in this house (you know, besides all the diaper changes that are now occuring) is that I have found a new addiction pasttime.  A minute to boast: I ran 4 km yesterday- just so you know. 

It is this website and it is wonderful.  Remember back when I wrote about not liking a clean house?  I would give the link, but I can’t find it and I am running out of time before “Lie to Me” starts.  Anyway, I think I only liked living in chaos because I didn’t live in order.  Now that I am attempting to organize my life (read house) I feel so much better.  Even if there is junk all over the floor, knowing I did my daily routines, and my today’s challenge gives me a sense of accomplishment.  Anyone who is having trouble knowing how or what to clean in their house should check it out.  I am a FLYbaby- and proud of it!

Oh yeah, the title today comes from Sesame Street’s Elmo’s Christmas Countdown.  One of the BEST Christmas specials I have seen ever.  You will love it, I promise.  But only if you love Ben Stiller.  Which I do.  Sorry Bruce. 

Anyway, there is a part with a snowball and a cranky elf, and… you get the picture!  SO funny!!!

3 Responses to “Not a snowballs chance in… how does that saying go?!”

  1. joan December 15, 2009 at 11:07 am #

    1)i’m a FLY baby too… just not dedicated. every once in a while i have a FLY month where i focus on following that lady. who knew a shiny sink the midst of chaos could make me so happy?
    2)so cool about joss! everything about it- cool!
    3)i’m so excited about your run!!! and a little jealous… but mostly EXCITED! congratulations!! did you get your new kicks yet?
    ps: got the christmas card today, thanks! love the pic!

  2. Elaine December 15, 2009 at 11:20 am #

    I too am a FLYbaby, thanks for the jumpstart.

    Off to do my morning routine! 🙂

  3. Erin December 15, 2009 at 2:50 pm #

    I was wondering if after our conversation(which by the way made my day..no, made my week!) there would be a post about flylady! I checked out the site after we talked and I think I need to be a fly baby too! I’m in the gestation phase right now I guess.
    I also checked out some of here links and the dinner diva is someone I also need help from….truly “what’s for dinner?” is a scary question for me!
    I hear Gabe waking up but way to go on the 4km run….boast it up Julie!
    Love you lots! And I love your blogs!

Leave a Reply

