Milestones

14 Nov

Today we hit another milestone.  But not the kind you brag about, exactly.  I was on the computer, and the girls were playing quietly.  A little too quietly, if you know what I mean.  Suddenly, I heard a little voice call, “Mommy?”  I went to investigate, figuring Holly had got herself trapped in some small space.  She is prone to do that.  That’s when I noticed that the door to the bathroom was closed.  I could hear her calling, and I knew what had happened.  My brain quickly scanned the possible solutions: have her turn the lock back- not a chance; remove the door from the outside- hinges on the wrong side; go in through the window- not an option; start to panic?  Getting there.

I fetched a screwdriver thinking to remove the door knob, and see if I could unlock it that way.  But, when I went to unscrew what I assumed to be the faceplate of the knob, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that the door knob engineers actually planned for this sort of thing.  I felt the lock turn, and quickly opened the door. 

Holly had removed her wet pants and quickly pranced through the door.  Cardiac arrest now averted I realized she must have gone in to pee, closed the door for privacy, and realizing that she couldn’t get onto the toilet herself, called for me to help.  That’s when we both noticed the door was locked. 

My biggest parenting fear is that I will lock the kids in the car.  You might wonder why my greatest fear isn’t something like that they get cancer, or get abducted.  But I am the most pragmatic, realistic person you will ever meet, so I know that if they got cancer it would be no one’s fault, so why worry; and the likelihood of them being kidnapped is microscopic compared to the scenario in which I toss my keys into the front seat (inadvertently hitting the lock button) and close all the doors.  On a swelteringly hot day… when they all need to pee… and are famished…

Seriously, so possible.

3 Responses to “Milestones”

  1. Erin November 14, 2009 at 10:41 pm #

    We just changed the door knobs on our indoor doors and I made sure to get the kind that you can unlock from the outside with a key! But I do run through what I would do if in certain emergencies. I’m glad that you averted cardiac arrest:) And that Holly was ok with the whole incident!

  2. joan November 15, 2009 at 5:46 pm #

    do you remember the time that i locked my kids inside the car at a rest stop along the highway at the end of the most horrible weekend of my life!? i was frantic!!! i ran around the parking lot yelling at people to give me their cell phones. totally broke down and bawled my face off while waiting for the tow truck. the memory of my 3 & 2 year olds mouthing “mommy!!!” from behind the other side of a window will haunt me forever!!

  3. Elaine November 18, 2009 at 2:22 pm #

    how about the fear of your 2 year old going up 23 floors on the elevator by himself?

    no longer a fear for me. I know how to handle it.

Leave a Reply

