An Unfortunate Accident

12 Nov

I am distressed to inform you all that there has been an accident. 

A very dear member of our family has befallen a calamity too horrible for words…

100_6631

Last week while visiting friends, Baby Pig was eaten by a dog.

I’ll give everyone a moment to process this news.  For those of you not in the know, Baby Pig is Bronwyn’s special particular best-est friend (and stuffed animal).  I endured a barrage of comments ranging from, “I’m sorry I didn’t watch Baby Pig better, and now he’s broken” to “Dear God, please heal Baby Pig.  Amen” to “Mommy, if I got another Baby Pig, do you think he would be as special as my first one?”.  Yeah.  I am crying too.

100_6650

Luckily, Bronwyn is resilient, and I am good with a needle and thread.

100_6649

4 Responses to “An Unfortunate Accident”

  1. Erin November 12, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    I think I would cry if Mr. Bear was to have a similar fate…oh the animals we, I mean out children love!

  2. joan November 13, 2009 at 11:01 am #

    i can’t believe you rescued baby pig! i mean, of course you rescued him, but i can’t believe that it was possible! good job!
    i don’t know what would happen if cheetah was eaten by a dog. i’m sure elliot would want the dog run over by a truck or something.

  3. Julie November 13, 2009 at 11:45 am #

    Yeah, I went at it a few times, and now after getting some beans in his paw, and restitching more evenly, and washing him, he actually looks really good! The lady who noticed the eating of Baby Pig, rushed over to help, and told me we’d better just toss him. I looked her in the eye and said, “no, you don’t understand. We CAN’T- so you’d better help me find all the pieces”. Luckily Bronwyn never saw BP in his original state. That would have given her nightmares for sure!

  4. Natalie November 13, 2009 at 11:23 pm #

    This is a tribute to a Mom’s love to piece together that which looks impossible for the love of her daughter. Yes, we better be looking for look-alikes in case there is a separation.

    Do you still have “Kitty”? A special girl at church made Kitty as a gift for Bruce when he was born, and Kitty became dear to us all. Must be in a box somewhere. 🙂

    Amazing tale…you did a great job, Julie.

Leave a Reply

