To vaccinate or not- that is the question today!

3 Nov

Bruce and I have similar philosophies in life.  I doubt they stem from the same source, but I usually know what Bruce would do in a situation, because I would probably do the same thing.  

I don’t think we need to make our lives any more complicated than they already are.  And I like to have set Principles in place to fall back on when I am faced with a grey, ethical decision.  I believe in the Greater Good.  I believe the Truth will set you Free.  I believe in the Path of Least Resistance.  And I believe that the Simplest Answer is usually Correct. 

For example, circumcision is fraught with debate.  But with no obvious argument for or against, I lean toward the “do not cut” philosophy.  Another example?  I am an amillennialist.  Please don’t shoot me.  But, I believe that the simplest explanation is often the correct one, and this end-times viewpoint is certainly the easiest to believe. 

So in regards to the H1N1 inoculation, frankly, the pros and cons to getting the vaccine seem about 50/50.  When it comes down to the choice between doing something and doing nothing, doing nothing usually wins (in cases where this is no obvious winner- don’t think that the garbage is piled up in our house because it is simply easier to never bring it to the curb!) 

So where does that leave me in the Vaccination Debate?  I am certainly pro-vaccinations, and pro-vaccination schedules too.  But flu shots?  Seems like for me and mine, simple safe-guards like handwashing, and staying away from the masses will see us through this year’s media-hyped, paranonia-induced flu season. 

What about you?

2 Responses to “To vaccinate or not- that is the question today!”

  1. Erin November 3, 2009 at 4:29 pm #

    You last paragraph describes our view too. And with all the panic around me, I feel perfectly at peace with our decision. I think the hardest part of the H1N1 decision for most people is deciding to deside. It seems most people are confident in their choice, it’s the deciding that causes the confusing.

    Erin

  2. Mom November 9, 2009 at 3:05 pm #

    I agree with you. And you don’t have curbs at your house.

Leave a Reply

