Welcome back, Stranger

27 Oct

I sincerely apologize for my lack of blogging activity since… September?  Has it been that long?  It isn’t that I haven’t wanted to.  But it just seems like I always have better things to do.  However, in my ongoing attempt to be a better person, I have decided to give updating my blog a higher priority.  So, this entry I am devoting to a catch-all catch-up, while subsequent entries will focus on certain aspects of our lives that I want to highlight (complete with pictures!).

We came home saturday from my folks’ after being there for a week.  It was a truly excellent visit.  I enjoy these visits even more now that I can look forward to spending time with my nephews as well as my siblings.  All of the kids got along great, making up new games like “Chase you” which requires at least 2 children and no socks.  The house is set up in a circle, so this turned out to be quite the popular activity.  All the better for taking place in the kitchen, living room, and front entrance simultaneously so no one really had to get up to supervise.  Did I mention that my parent’s house has mirrors on every available wall?  I am surprised no one thought to give anyone window writers and let them loose!

I also jumped back into my running program last week.  It felt great to be out stretching my muscles and bonding with my sisters.  My knee is completely healed thanks in part to my MIL and her PT exercises, but mostly to the power of prayer put forth by my Tuesday Morning Ladies’ Bible Study.  A stronger army of prayer warriors I have never met.

Holly continues to amaze and frustrate me with her development.  She is now potty-trained, and rarely has accidents.  She still struggles with bowel movements, but that will come.  She also graduated to a big girl bed which allowed me to move the crib into Josselyn’s room.  I tried to put all 3 down one night, and was unhappy with the results.  Joss goes to bed too early for that to work yet.  Holly also has taken to increasing the volume of her voice in noticeable increments every time she thinks you are not listening to her.  She understands the concept of interrupting, but hates when it is done to her, so I spend a large portion of my day, dictating who may talk when.  A small glimmer of my life in the future, I predict.  She still is able to melt my heart with her adorableness though, and I treasure every heartfelt hug and squeeze.

Brownyn is departing from Dramaqueenville as quickly as Holly is entering it.  She is neck deep into pretend.  We pretend I am Bronwyn and she is Mommy.  We pretend to be lions.  She has an imaginary friend named Joey Monster who is pink and friendly.  She pretends to be a magician and does a truly adorable magic trick involving making Baby Pig disappear.  I will have to record it some day so she can see it. 

Josselyn continues to improve.  Her sleeping is becoming more regular, and her fussiness is decreasing.  She spends very little time actually awake, but can usually stay happy for 1 or 2 hours until it is time for her next nap.  She occasionally needs to be held, but will agree to sit in her high chair or on the floor for a while with some toys and some sisters making faces at her.  Enough to get supper on the table anyway.  She goes to bed around 7pm waking once at 4am and then again for the day near 8 am.  I can handle that.  I can see, now, that she has a most engaging smile, and when she decides to use it, it is mesmerizing.  She’ll be quite the heart-breaker in 15 years I fear!  She is already promised to a boy though, so no requests!

Keep checking back for my updates this week.  I won’t forget the pictures!

2 Responses to “Welcome back, Stranger”

  1. Erin October 27, 2009 at 7:26 pm #

    FINALLY! I’ve been waiting patiently for an update on my favourite family of little girls. I wish I was in Sudbury when you were visiting! Those mirrors are truly amazing…I do believe a fantastic poem or 2 was left on them:)

    Can’t wait to see the pictures!
    Love you
    Erin

  2. Joan October 27, 2009 at 8:21 pm #

    awesome! so glad to have an update!
    PS: sending you pictures from your visit has been on my to-do list for so long! i’ll get to it!

Leave a Reply

