Rick Mercer is shorter than he looks on tv

26 Sep

Today, the girls and I saw Rick Mercer.  He is here filming an upcoming segment for the Rick Mercer Report (which I think is hilarious), and it coincided with the Great Pumpkin Weigh-off, so I packed the kids in the car and headed to the Blueberry Ranch.  I will apologize now for the lack of photographical evidence.  I totally forgot my camera.  I am such a lousy mother.  And there were SO many great photo ops of Rick too!  Rick chasing pigs around a track.  Rick judging the pumpkins.  I only wish we could see him in the Pumpkin Boat Races tomorrow.  We’ll see.

Anyway, the kids had a great time.  We went down the 100 ft slide a gazillion times.  And waited in the line-up to slide down the 100 ft slide a gazillion times.  Bronwyn learned some valuable life lessons on lines.  Like never leave your place, and always start at the back.  Holly never did catch on.  She attempted to jump the line every single time.  I had to pull her off by the ankle several times while Bronwyn “saved” our spot!  Even Joss got to go down with me a few times.  Like I said while we were there, “this is why I have children… so I can go on these things without getting stared at”.  I even volunteered to take my friend’s son down a few times, just so I could go more! 

The downside of the slide, ironically, is the walk up.  And it was steep.  Holly was physically unable to do the last 20 ft, so I ended up carrying her and Carson, or her and Josselyn every time.  Brutal.  But I still went running tonight.  That’s right.  I said running.

Oh, my love/hate relationship with running is on again.  I have never considered myself a runner.  I would react with loathing at the mention of it.  But, I guess, I was approached at the right time, and I foolishly agreed to start.  And when I say foolishly, I don’t mean because I knew I would hate it.  Foolishly because I knew, deep down, that I might like it.  And I do.  I love seeing how much stronger my body is becoming.  I like getting out of the house for an hour with a friend and my dog every evening.  I like having something to look forward to.  And I like, as vain as it sounds, to say that I can’t do *blank* because I have to run.  Tonight my buddy couldn’t make it, so I took both dogs out with me instead.  I ran 14 extra Hydro poles, and felt great.  I may be addicted.

Life is getting busy here again.  Autumn seems to attack me every year.  Guilting me into doing more stuff: “because” he whispers “winter is coming”.  I am not looking forward to Winter.  Winter and I used to get along.  But lately, we are not friends.  I tried.  I did.  But Winter and I are not on the same page anymore.  Winter is all about the snow, and the fun fun activities that are best done by adults.  And I am all about the small children.  And the small children’s boots.  And the carrying of the small children because they don’t like to walk on Winter’s snow.  And the leaving of the door open so all the hot air escapes because small children just do not leave the house very fast.  They tend to stand in the doorway for several seconds while the debate the pros and cons of actually going out the door.  Unless that small child is Holly, and she is not supposed to BE outside.  Then she can leave the house faster and quieter than a seasoned cat burglar. 

I leave you with a few pics.  We had some family photos done recently.  Enjoy.

child1

DSC_0045

baby1

4 Responses to “Rick Mercer is shorter than he looks on tv”

  1. Amanda September 27, 2009 at 10:13 pm #

    The slide comment made me laugh…not having kids certainly doesn’t stop me…I went down the slide at the Atlanta Aquarium, just because I didn’t want to walk all the way back around to get down…and there is video evidence somewhere. 😀
    I still think Joss still looks some much like your dad that it is almost scary (and in turn looks like you!)

  2. Erin September 28, 2009 at 1:22 pm #

    I love Rick Mercer…my favourite is when he did Diving with Alexander Despartie…SO FUNNY!
    I also hate winter and for the same reasons.

    That’s awesome that you are running! Good for you!

    These comments are random, but I haven’t the brain capacity for thoughts and sentences that run together.

    I love your blogs and you!
    Erin

  3. Steph September 28, 2009 at 7:14 pm #

    This has nothing to do with your blog, I just wanted to tell you that I’m glad you’re coming in October…because Hunting Season conveniently coincides with Pumpkin Spice Season…just sayin’

  4. Elaine September 30, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    mmm…pumpkin spice…mmm…

Leave a Reply

