10 minutes

23 Sep

6:00:00 pm- Baby cries.  I sit down to nurse her.

6:00:03- Holly sends a large, plastic toy in the shape of a ball (that might be the most obnoxious thing we own) sailing through the air to land directly on the baby’s skull (you could feel the thunk).

6:03:27- I finally calm Joss down enough to convince her to start feeding again.

6:03:30- I look down to see 3 globs of brown poop smeared on the carpet.

6:03:34- I scream.

6:03:40- I instruct Bronwyn to grab the baby wipes from the bathroom, while gently coaxing Holly to just.stay.put.

6:04:00- She bolts.  Visions of her sitting on, well, anything, block out any other thought.

6:04:45- I finally give up trying to convince Holly to come back here right this second, and yank the baby off my boob and drop her unceremoniously on the floor.

6:04:46- Baby wails.

6:05:00- I give up trying to get baby wipes from Bronwyn and get some from the diaper bag myself.

6:05:45- Realize baby wipes are not going to cut it, and ask Bronwyn to bring me some Pink Solution.

6:06:15- Bronwyn returns with a small handful, and we start to rub it into the carpet. 

6:07:00- Go to the bathroom for more.

6:07:03- See more brown blobs dotting the carpet like some toddler version of  Hansel and Gretel.

6:07:30- Wrangle Holly into the bathtub, which, owing to my new resolution to start cleaning the tub after I give the kids a bath, is spotless since I had just gotten them OUT of the bath seven and a half minutes ago.

6:07:35- Run the water in the hopes Holly will just rinse herself off.

6:08:50- Finish cleaning the second mess.

6:09:45- Finish cleaning Holly, and wiping down the bathtub.

6:09:59- Pick up Josselyn to continue where we left off.

6:10:00- Witness Holly peeing on the floor…

4 Responses to “10 minutes”

  1. joan September 24, 2009 at 8:28 am #

    WHAT IN THE WORLD?!?!??! that’s just insane!
    other than the obvious incredulities at the ten minutes you experienced this morning, i have a couple of comments:
    1) pink solution! thanks! i’ve been trying to remember the name of it.
    2) yes! clean bathtub! are you also doing the 3 minutes each morning for the rest of the bathroom?
    3) i’ve been forcing myself out of bed at 6:30 for two days now.. look at what i’ve been missing! i definitely need to see what adventures unfold when i wake up at 6 😛
    4) you left coats here… i need your address so i can mail them to you (email it to me!).

  2. Erin September 24, 2009 at 1:03 pm #

    Oh Julie – you are so funny! I can vividly picture the whole incident.
    Keep blogging…I love em!

  3. Amanda September 24, 2009 at 11:07 pm #

    I couldn’t help myself, I was laughing the whole way through. Not many people can say they fit that much into a ten minute span. Well done! 😉

  4. Elaine September 30, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    BAHAHA!! I can picture it now…

Leave a Reply

