Ahem… this post was supposed to be about Josselyn

9 Sep

Josselyn is only 3 and a half months now, but I think she really is getting better.  It has been a long, hard road.  I read recently that if you think your child might have colic, he doesn’t.  Parents knowwhen their baby has colic.  I disagree.  Joss has all the signs of a colicky baby:  intense, inconsolable crying from the first few days of life (more like first few hours), and crying for more than 3 hours a day 3 days a week for 3 weeks.  If only.  If she wasn’t sleeping she was crying.  Or nursing.  And she is still not completely settled.  Yet, I am reluctant to label her as “colic”.  Is it because we don’t know what colic is, and I am afraid that it might predispose her to something no one can forsee, or am I just against labelling in all forms? 

We all do it. Labelling.  She has such big eyes, she’ll be my looker for sureHe has been throwing a ball since before he could walk- major leagues here we come!  She’s my serious one/wild child/ picky eater.  Even nice labels like my “helper” can backfire.  I mean, what does that make your other kids…?  And if you think you don’t, when was the last time you referred to your kids as your oldest/youngest/biggest etc. 

Plugging children into neat little coordinates will map out their lives in ways you can’t envision.  And as siblings, we feel that once an older child has laid claim to some skill, it is somehow off limits. 

I think we’re going to have the opposite problem here.  I want to put Brownyn in gymnastics, but am hesitating until Holly is old enough to join her.  They won’t notice at this age, and Holly will be bummed that she is being left out; and, Bronwyn will be more likely to try something new if her sister is there.  But will they look back and wonder why they never did anything that was their own?

I am probably over analyzing this, and am definitely worrying over nothing.  Chalk it up to not sleeping through the night for 4 months if you want, but my kids are going to be the best.  They will all be the prettiest, smartest, politest, sweetest girls out there. 

But doesn’t that defeat and completely negate the idea of -est?!?

Who cares?  Call it a tie.

3 Responses to “Ahem… this post was supposed to be about Josselyn”

  1. Erin September 9, 2009 at 10:26 pm #

    On the labeling note. I was the athlete and my sister were compared to me all the time. They didn’t play sports in high school because of it.

    And on the waiting for Holly to be old enough. I was annoyed that I had to wait for Amy (we’re 15 months apart) to do stuff, like go to camp etc. It was annoying to me that she got to stay up as late as I did when I didn’t get to when I was that age. We did everything at the same time. We ALWAYS got the same thing for christmas so it was a race to see who could open there presents first.

    ….just my own rant there.

    I love your blogs…and I love you. I will label you my favourite Julie!

  2. Karolyn September 10, 2009 at 10:55 am #

    Interesting thoughts Julie….iiinnnnnnteresting.

  3. Elaine September 11, 2009 at 4:40 pm #

    I hear you Erin, you’re right on the money.

    I read these blogs in the wrong order apparently…we need to discuss the sermon I heard…

Leave a Reply

