Happy 1st (month) Birthday!

1 Jul

Today Josselyn is 1 month old.  Here’s hoping I get this post finished before midnight.  Edited to add: I didn’t… and I apologize for the subsequent disjointedness of this entry.

I think she weighs around 9 lbs, but that is purely an educated guess.  I did measure her this morning (to celebrate the occasion) and she has grown from 18.5 inches to 21.5 inches.  Makes you kind of wonder if they misread the measuring tape the first time, doesn’t it?

My baby continues to be contrary, wanting to be awake during the night, and sleep during the day.  She is better, but still difficult.  She is very hard to soothe to sleep, and it requires a concentrated effort on my part to rock, cuddle, swaddle, swing, nurse, or “elevator” her to a place where she is calm enough to settle into a sleepy state.  Luckily she is a great eater, so I can be confident through this whole ordeal that she isn’t crying from hunger.  Bruce wants to help with her.  He really does.  But she refuses to have anything to do with him.  She wails as soon as she hits his arms; and, trust me, she can outlast him every time.  I feel bad for him, but I feel worse for me, since I am the one wo does the majority of the baby care.  Luckily, I am her most favourite person ever, so at least she isn’t in full out cry mode when she’s with me.  More like a high-pitched, ultra-annoying whimper thing that would escalate into crying without the above-mentioned intensive soothing.

It amazes me that I ever even thought about being protective of Bronwyn.  I am not at all the helicopter parent type, but I still worried, and fussed, and inwardly panicked every time it looked like Bronwyn was about to cry, or put something in her mouth that hadn’t been sterilized.  I laid on the floor with her and played with stacking cubes, and plastic keys that played music.  I fretted over the discrepancy in time given to Bronwyn when Holly arrived.  Don’t believe me- check out this link:

http://sunshine27-j.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!D5DF7825C225093!2192.entry

What I would write to that girl in a letter.

Note for posterity: Holly was 32.5 inches and 26.5 lbs at her 18 month check-up.  That should make her 5’5″ tall. 

Today I picked up a soother off the floor, cleaned it in my mouth and then shoved it into Josselyn’s mouth.  When it looked like she (still) wouldn’t take it, I handed it to Holly (who had been sitting at my feet impatiently demanding it).  Then, a few minutes later, I decided Holly didn’t need to be walking around with a soother in her mouth, so I confiscated it and popped it back between Josselyn’s screaming lips.  What would the experts say?!  Not that I care…

Since I started this post on monday, my girl has slept for two stretces of 8 hours!  AND, they were between the hours of 9pm and 5am.  Give or take.  I struck me this morning that she will be 6 weeks old next week.  The turning point.  Crazy.  But I am noticing small changes.  She has started falling asleep crying herself to sleep in only 10-15 minutes.  I go in to check on her and she is laying perfectly still in her bassinet, eyes closed, wailing.  If left alone she will fall asleep, but if I pick her up or pat her or anything, she opens her eyes and cries even harder.  So I don’t.  And I don’t even feel guilty.

Note to Josselyn: I am only recording the truth, as I am sure I will be unable to remember this years from now when you ask what you were like as a baby.  Please remember that we love you, even if you are being a little hard to manage now.  Love always, Mommy.

Bronwyn around 1 month

Bronwyn around 1 month

Holly at around 1 month

Holly at around 1 month

Josselyn at 1 month

Josselyn at 1 month

5 Responses to “Happy 1st (month) Birthday!”

  1. Anne mobach July 1, 2009 at 3:59 pm #

    i think josselyn and bronwyn look very much alike!!

  2. Aunty Stephy July 2, 2009 at 5:25 pm #

    They do look alike, but very different too. Crazy how different three sisters can be (oh wait, you Elaine and I…)

  3. Erin July 4, 2009 at 10:07 am #

    Oh Julie you are a great Mom. I can’t believe how much Josselyn is a mix of both B and Holly. All your girls are gorgeous!

  4. Elaine July 5, 2009 at 9:46 pm #

    B and J look so much alike!! Beautiful babies!

  5. Heather Sztanyo July 10, 2009 at 11:43 pm #

    Hi Julie!!!

    I love love love your blog. It makes me smile. Not that I check it often, but when I do and find new material, it makes me smile. If it makes you feel any better, Marisa seems like she was a lot like Joss when she was little. I realized after a while that the ONLY way she’d sleep contentedly was if I nursed her the solid night through. NOT an option. But any other arrangement meant crying. As soon as I’d try to put her down, no matter how soundly she was sleeping, she’d wake up a cry. So I learned she actually NEEDED to cry it out. Like you, her length of cries reduced and reduced. But even today, she fights sleep and is the hardest for me to separate myself from at night. Whatever! They’re all different, huh? I just hope this next one sleeps like David did. 🙂

Leave a Reply

