Reflections

19 Jun

Well, Josselyn is doing great.  She is 3 weeks old today.  She weighed in at 8 lbs 11 oz on Wednesday, nearly a full pound in a week.  She continues to nurse well, and has started to uncurl.  She has periods of intense wakefulness where she looks like she is soaking everything in as fast as she can.  I guess she knows she has a bit of catching up to do before she gets to play with her sisters. 

From her first night until wednesday she was awake (crying) for 3-5 hours every night.  I would be up from about 1am until 5am coaxing her back to sleep.  She refused to sleep.  But during the day she barely opened her eyes to eat before falling back into a deep stupor.  I figured I would give her until 6 weeks and then return her for an easier model.  Luckily, I won’t have to hunt for that receipt because for the last 2 nights, she has slept!  She woke up once to eat, then fell back asleep until the morning.  PRAISE THE LORD!  And I do not utter that phrase lightly or in jest.  The sleep deprivation was taking its toll, and the adage of “sleep when your baby sleeps” is useless when you have other children.  Besides, I don’t want to sleep in the day.  I want to sleep at night.  When people SLEEP!  However, I am hopeful that this is a permanent change, and that we will slowly begin the process of sleep training like we did with the first two.  Bruce’s coworker (whose children are terrible sleepers) laughingly told me that he and his wife figured I would have her whipped into shape before Bruce returned to work.  I sure hope so, Jason.  I sure hope so.

Holly had her 18 month check-up this week as well.  What can I say?  The kid is a developmental genius!  She is far beyond the requirements (and even the norms) for her age group.  She is at the top of the curve for height (32.5 in) and about 75th percentile for weight (27.5 lbs).  She has over 50 words and can make 2-4 word phrases.  My favourite?  When the nurse gave her the needles she said, “ouch; pinch; go outside”.  The NP thought her speech was very clear and was able to understand most of what she said.  When she asked her to point to her eyes she pointed to her eyes and said “eyes”.  When she asked Holly to identify the baby in the picture, she pointed to Josselyn and said “Baby Joss”.  And when she got tired of all the talking, she clearly said (while pointing to the door and tugging on my hand), “car; GO”. 

She climbs on everything.  She plays pretend (like making coffee and food for her dolls, and putting them to bed).  She “reads” to herself.  And she is fearless.  I am constatly afraid she will jump off the playground equipment one day because she wants to see what will happen.  If Bronwyn can do something, she works until she can do it too.  In fact, she can do lots of things Bronwyn can’t.  Like opening the back door, and taking off her clothes.  Two skills I had hoped neither would ever learn!

Adjusting to a third baby has been difficult, but so worth it.  When I see my little family, and see how we look within our world, it makes me happy.  I don’t know if I will ever lose that longing for just one more child.  Every baby brings a new dynamic.  And I love watching our lives unfold; picturing the future, and remembering the past.  My only worry is that I will never be content with what I have, and recognize it for perfection.  That I will perpetually wonder about that next child… the what ifs of parenthood will be my downfall.

2 Responses to “Reflections”

  1. Karolyn June 20, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    can’t wait to see the girls this coming weekend…we’re going to have a blast!

  2. Jess June 23, 2009 at 4:56 pm #

    Jules, I LOVE your blog…and, you really do inspire me…just so you know. ;o)

Leave a Reply

