Day 5 Already?!

3 Jun

So Josselyn is 5 days old.  Seems hard to believe.  On the one hand I feel she has been here forever, and on the other hand it is all still so new.  She weighed in at 7 lbs 3oz and today she is 6lbs 13oz.  This is (for those of you who are not mathematical savants) greater than a 10% weight loss (the lowest acceptable percentage).  Just like Joss to measure small!  All during the pregnancy she fell below average, treating me to numerous ultrasounds and lambasting concerning the amount of weight I had gained.

Her favourite time of day night is 1am-4am, and prefers our company to, you know, SLEEPING.  We are trying something new tonight: the soother.  We’ll see how it goes.

Bronwyn and Holly are still enamoured with their new sister.  Holly demands to hold her, and looks absolutely enormous next to Josselyn’s petite body.  She won’t kiss anyone except Joss, and does so with amazing frequency, holding out her arms for a hug and kiss whenever either of them wakes up from a nap!  She spends a lot of time poking her in the eyesstaring at her in her swing, and trying to pat her.  When asked, she announces that Josselyn is “mah baybay Jossssssss”.  Where she picked up the weird accent is beyond us, but I love it!!

Both Bronwyn and Holly have taken a new interest in their “special toys”.  Bronwyn has “Baby Pig” and Holly has “Lambykins”.  They swaddle, put to bed, and burp them all day.  They even have special diapers and some clothes they dress them up in.  Bronwyn has even breastfed, and “birthed” Baby Pig a few times.  Bronwyn is trying so hard to be good and helpful, and Holly is trying so hard to be just like Bronwyn.  I am so happy they are taking this disruption well.  We’ll see how they react once the honeymoon period is over… read: Nanni goes home!

My mom has been so helpful.  But besides the day to day help, she and Bronwyn have reconnected through… baking!  Nanni has been showing her how to make pies and cookies, and she lets her help in the kitchen “cutting” and grating and just generally being helpful.  Bronwyn is basking in the attention, and I am bursting with sugary pastries! 

Josselyn will only be a week old on friday, and I can’t imagine my life without her.

3 Responses to “Day 5 Already?!”

  1. Erin June 4, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

    Aw, Julie, what a precious family you have. I love that B is breastfeeding Baby pig…so adorable and I also love that she has burdened herself with birthing baby pig…a true mommy…lol.
    I love that you call Josselyn Joss. I can’t believe I didn’t make the connect to that nickname until you said it…I love it!
    Well Mommy Julie, you are wonderful and I hope your little night owl decides to stay awake during the day rather than 1-4!
    Love you lots!

  2. Elaine June 10, 2009 at 8:02 pm #

    it was a nice update, but it lacked something very important…*cough*…PICTURES!!! Tell your husband that as of now he is officially on picture uploading duty until further notice. 😀

  3. Katrina June 10, 2009 at 11:41 pm #

    Ok, I love your stories about your 3 beautiful girls…and I REALLY love your use of the “cross out”. You make me laugh. I really wish we could connect before we fly out of this beautiful country full of great families like yours.

    My my my, Nate’s going to be overwhelmed trying to figure out which of your 3 beauties he’s going to try and court. I think at this point he’s still saying he’d prefer to marry Bronwyn, because “she can talk”.

    Looking forward to your next blog and hope you get some rest!

Leave a Reply

