Perhaps I spoke a little too soon…

29 Apr

Since Monday, Holly has been pretty much puking or has had diarrhea non-stop.  When she isn’t spewing noxious liquids into my face/hair, she is sleeping or clinging or crying.  Or getting a bath… you know, from all the vomit.

It is really hard to take the advice of not feeding your child until the vomiting subsides when she is pointing and crying and trying to say words to get you to just-give-her-some-food-already-mom-I’m-starving!!!  Even though I know that the soda crackers and water she just consumed are going to end up nowhere but down my shirt.  And it could happen at any time. 

The worst is trying to feed them both at the same time.  Bronwyn would happily eat just crackers and cheese and water for breakfast lunch and dinner.  So while I attempt to force more varied/colourful fare on my oldest, my youngest is doing her best to swipe any morsel off Bronwyn’s plate that she can.  The more acidic or difficult to digest the better!  Also, anything that stains when regurgitated is a bonus!

So, although I am not pulling my hair out, I a finding it next to impossible to accomplish anything when every second load of laundry is “sick” stuff; when I am so busy cleaning the carpet that I don’t have time to sweep the floor; and when Holly is awake I can’t do anything more productive than sit on the floor and hold her.  Not that I mind that last part.  It is a great excuse to sit on the floor and hold my cuddly soon-to-be-a-big-sister-herself-and-no-longer-my-sweet-precious-chubby-baby.  WAH!!!  Where did the time go?!?!?!?

On another note: I was trying to get Holly to take some liquids tonight and she kept throwing the cup on the floor.  Bronwyn walked over and handed her the cup (which she took with a smile) and said “she’ll take her sippy cup from me because I am her big sister and she is my Holly”.

How can anyone ever only want one?

3 Responses to “Perhaps I spoke a little too soon…”

  1. joan April 29, 2009 at 8:25 pm #

    😦 that’s so sad. i remember going through that last year with both kids. they were so dehydrated and week and could keep NOTHING down. so i know that advice in this area can be annoying, but i’m leaving it anyway.
    i bought some rice baby cereal because it digests quickly and easily. my kids hated it but it gave them some strength and in between that and teeny tiny sips of pediolyte… they started to get better. anyway, i’m sure you’re past all of this now, but if you should go through this again… remember my wise words 😀

  2. Erin April 30, 2009 at 7:44 pm #

    Oh Julie
    That’s awful, poor Holly. I hope that things are better soon.
    I’ll pray for you guys tonight.

  3. Allison May 1, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    Your girls are going to be wonderful big sisters!!! Good luck in the upcoming weeks 🙂

Leave a Reply

